Recognizing feminist advocacy & collaborative leadership in global cooperation


The Karen Takacs Award is presented annually by the Canadian Council for International Co-operation (CCIC) to an individual who has notably, by virtue of working collaboratively, made a difference in the lives of women globally. The award honours outstanding collaborative leadership and commitment to promoting women’s equality.  The winner will be announced at the CCIC 2018 Annual Conference, September 19-20, 2018 at Carleton University in Ottawa and will be given the opportunity to host a workshop to share her expertise and experience of collaborative leadership in 2018-19.

History & Context

Karen Takacs was a celebrated and cherished leader of the Canadian international community. For over 20 years, Karen worked tirelessly to improve the lives and advance the rights of women and girls locally, nationally, and internationally.

Karen was a catalyst for collaboration in the Canadian international sector. Throughout her life, Karen was admired for motivating and bringing people together around a common cause. By way of encouragement, generosity, and humour, Karen led by mobilizing and supporting others. Following Karen’s passing in 2015, the Canadian Council for International Co-operation (CCIC) created an award to honour her invaluable contribution to the fight for social and economic justice, and to celebrate the unique collaborative leadership she demonstrated throughout her career, including her time as Chair of the Board of CCIC.  For the Canadian global development community, the Karen Takacs Award is a symbol of feminism, collaboration, advocacy, mentorship, and resilience.

Previous Recipients

  • 2016: Karen Takacs (received by her family)
  • 2017: Patricia Erb, former President and CEO of Save the Children Canada

Criteria for Selection

To nominate someone for this award, please see the criteria below. Nominations must be received by August 31, 2018.

In order to be considered for the award, a nominee must:

  • Identify as a feminist
  • Be peer-nominated
  • Be making a meaningful contribution to the rights of women and girls with a global focus, with regards to addressing sexual violence such as through the #MeToo movement

Expectations for Award Winner

  • Attendance at the CCIC 2018 Annual Conference (September 19-20, 2018 at Carleton University in Ottawa) to receive award
  • Serve on the Karen Takacs Award committee for 1 year, following the receipt of the award
  • The winner will be invited to host a relevant leadership workshop in the year in which the award is presented (2018-2019).

Nomination Procedures

  • Two central nomination letters that provide an accounting of the nominee’s advocacy for women’s equality and collaborative leadership contributions. In the nomination letter, the nominator is asked to demonstrate the following:
    • Evidence of the nominee’s contributions to feminist advocacy for women and girls, with regards to addressing sexual violence such as through the #MeToo movement
    • Evidence of how the nominee has made a difference by working collaboratively
    • Evidence of how the nominee has influenced or inspired her peers
    • Evidence of how the nominee has made an impact on a global scale
  • Links to websites and other documentation that describes and illustrates the nominee’s advocacy work and its impact (including testimonials from those benefiting from or witnessing the activism) will be useful to the committee
  • The nominee’s curriculum vitae or resume
  • The candidate’s CV and all nomination letters should be submitted as one pdf attachment to Jessica Ruano, Communications Officer at by August 31st, 2018.
Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!