Activities & Events

Activités et Événements

Du monde universitaire à l’activisme

L’association étudiante de l’École de développement international et mondialisation de l’Université d’Ottawa souhaite inviter les étudiants du programme et de la faculté à un atelier innovant, sur le thème du changement. Ce dernier consiste à voir comment serait-il possible de transposer les connaissances académiques acquises durant les cours pour devenir acteur de changement.

 

2018

Après la tempête : Construire le village du pare François

Pour marquer le 5e anniversaire du supertyphon Haiyan, le 8 novembre dernier, Développement et Paix, en collaboration avec le programme Prochaine génération et le Groupe de travail Asie-Pacifique, a présenté le documentaire Après la tempête : Construire le village du pare François

Together 2018

La programme Prochaine génération a participé à Together 2018, la deuxième édition de ce symposium annuel favorisant la collaboration et l’innovation autour des objectifs de développement durable (ODD) des Nations Unies au Canada et ailleurs dans le monde.

Comment pouvons-nous soutenir les mouvements de jeunesse qui luttent contre les inégalités ?

Le 25 octobre dernier, le programme Prochaine génération, le Groupe d’orientation politique pour les Amériques du CCCI et Oxfam Québec ont organisé un dîner-causerie dans les bureaux du CCCI avec Ode Lunardi, conseillère en engagement civique, et Elena Mejia, militante féministe péruvienne.

École doctorale de l’ACÉDI 2018 

L’équipe du programme Prochaine génération a organisé l’École doctorale de l’ACÉDI les 18, 21 et 22 septembre 2018. Cette année, l’École doctorale a attiré à Ottawa un groupe de 20 doctorants brillants et engagés qui désiraient apprendre et échanger en commun pendant une semaine.

Pleins feux sur la séance de l’équipe du programme Prochaine génération 

La séance du programme Prochaine génération, intitulée Partenariats en pratique : Travailler à des collaborations justes et percutantes, visait à susciter un dialogue sur les partenariats de recherche entre universitaires et praticiens en mettant l’accent sur le processus de recherche, les avantages et les défis des partenariats de recherche, ainsi que la diffusion de pratiques exemplaires.

InterAction Forum 2018

L’équipe du programme Prochaine génération a organisé un atelier pour explorer les raisons qui motivent les OSC américains à collaborer avec des universitaires et leurs façons de faire à ce chapitre. Il était l’occasion de faire part des résultats de notre étude comparative sur l’écosystème américain et canadien au sujet de partenariats multipartites et de dialoguer avec nos homologues américains sur ce sujet. 

2017

La Base de données NextGen

C’est le mercredi 27 septembre, à la conférence annuelle 2017 du CCCI à Ottawa, que le programme Prochaine Génération a lancé la base de données NextGen. Cette dernière a été conçue dans l’optique de favoriser la collaboration en recherche et l’échange de connaissances. Pour les chercheurs, elle PERMET D’ACTUALISER ET DE FAIRE CONNAÎTRE l’objet de leurs études. Et pour les universitaires, journalistes, agents du gouvernement et organisations de la société civile du Canada, elle sert de PORTAIL D’ACCÈS aux travaux des chercheurs.

École doctorale de l’ACÉDI 

Les 25 et 26 septembre 2017, le programme Prochaine Génération tenait l’école doctorale de l’ACÉDI. Cette année, l’événement était étroitement lié au programme Prochaine Génération. Il visait à créer des synergies entre les étudiants et les praticiens ayant des intérêts communs.

Prochaine Génération à la conférence du CCCI

Le programme Prochaine Génération a organisé quatre tables rondes à la conférence de cette année, rassemblant plus de 20 conférenciers provenant des OSC et des établissements d’enseignement ou de recherche. Ainsi, chercheurs et praticiens avaient une tribune où amorcer la réflexion en discutant d’idées pour influencer, inspirer et innover.

Déjeuner-conférence avec Duncan Green

Le samedi 11 novembre, Prochaine Génération a organisé un déjeuner-conférence avec Duncan Green, conseiller stratégique d’Oxfam Grande-Bretagne et auteur de From Poverty to Power et How Change Happens. Nous avons suivi avec intérêt les dernières publications de son blogue quotidien, qui traitent des relations entre ONG et universitaires.

Le rôle du milieu universitaire dans l’atteinte des objectifs de développement durable (ODD).

Le 24 octobre a eu lieu un atelier, organisé conjointement par le programme Prochaine Génération, l’Université de Calgary et le Bow Valley College dans le cadre de Together 2017, sur le rôle du milieu universitaire dans l’atteinte des objectifs de développement durable (ODD).

Dîner-conférence avec Jude Fransman

Le programme Prochaine génération a organisé un dîner-conférence avec Jude Fransman de l’Open University (Royaume-Uni) le 17 août 2017. Jude a présenté les données probantes et les enjeux politiques en ce qui concerne la participation à des collaborations intersectorielles de recherche pour le développement international.

Activities & Events

Activities and Events 

Don’t miss the upcoming Regional Events 

Ottawa – February 5th to 9th

Don’t miss International Development Week at University of Ottawa from February 5th to 9th. “Breaking Down Barriers: Mobilizing Locally for a Global Impact.” Find more information and the schedule here.

Calgary – February 6th

Don’t miss the event: “Storytelling the Sustainable Development Goals: Experiences in International Development. It will take place at Hotel Alma – Senate Room on February 6th at 5:00 pm. Find more information here

Toronto – February 9th

Don’t miss the International Development Conference at University of Toronto Scarborough on February 9th. For more information and for the full schedule click here

2018

During the Institutional Members session on Saturday, January 26 2019, the Next Generation Research Assistant, Elena Toukan, and Program Officer, Nasya Razavi, presented on “Knowledge co-creation: Practices and approaches in research partnerships.” Participants learned about recent Next Generation research. Case studies illustrated examples of the challenges and opportunities of research partnerships between civil society practitioners pairing with academics, and how fair and effective collaborations can be achieved. Through two interactive activities, participants had the opportunity to reflect upon and discuss their own approaches to research projects.

From Academia to Action

The International Development Graduate Student Association of the University of Ottawa organized an exciting workshop which sought to connect the skills academics have with the roles that can be played in taking action on global injustice.

After the Storm: Building the Pope Francis Village

Marking the 5th anniversary of Super Typhoon Haiyan on November 8th, Development and Peace, in collaboration with the Next Generation Program and the Asia Pacific Working Group, presented the documentary film After the Storm: Building the Pope Francis Village.

Together 2018

The Next Generation Program participated in Together 2018, the second annual Symposium fostering collaboration and innovation around the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) in Canada and beyond.

How can we support youth movements that fight against inequalities?

On October 25th, NextGen, the CCIC Americas Policy Group, and Oxfam Québec hosted a brown bag lunch and learn at the CCIC offices with Ode Lunardi, civic engagement advisor, and Elena Mejia, Peruvian feminist activist

CASID PhD School 2018 Recap

Next Generation organized the CASID PhD School 2018 on September 18th, 21st and 22nd. This year’s PhD School brought together a group of 20 engaged and bright PhD students to Ottawa for a week of shared learning and networking.

Spotlight on the NextGen Session at CCIC Annual Conference in partnership with CASID

The NextGen session, “Partnerships in practice: Working towards fair and impactful collaborations,” aimed to create a dialogue around research partnerships between academics and practitioners by focusing on the process of research, benefits and challenges of research partnerships, and sharing best practices. 

InterAction Forum 2018

NextGen organized a session to explore reasons and ways the US-CSO community collaborates with academics. This session was an opportunity to share findings from our comparative study on the US-Canadian ecosystem on multi-stakeholder partnerships and engage with our US counterparts on this matter.

2017

NextGen Database Official Launch

On Wednesday September 27th, at the 2017 CCIC Annual Conference in Ottawa, the Next Generation Program launched the NextGen Database. The NextGen Database has been developed as a commitment to promoting collaboration in research and knowledge exchange. The Database also PROVIDES AN ACCESSIBLE PORTAL into your work to other Canadian academics, media, government, and civil society organisations.

CASID PhD School 2017

NextGen organized the CASID PhD school 2017 on September 25th and 26th.  The 2017 Phd School was closely tight to the NextGen program and aimed to create synergies between students and practitioners working on shared interests.

NextGen at CCIC Conference 2017

NextGen organized four panels in CCIC’s conference, with over 20 speakers, split between CSOs and academic or research institutions. It created a space for researchers and practitioners to discuss thought-provoking themes to influence, inspire and innovate.

Breakfast discussion with Duncan Green

On Saturday November 11th, the Next Generation organized a breakfast discussion with Duncan Green, a strategic adviser for Oxfam GB and author of ‘From Poverty to Power’ and ‘How Change Happens.’ We have been closely following Mr. Green latest publications on NGO-Academic relations in his daily blog.

The Role of Academia in Helping Achieve the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs)

On October 24th, NextGen co-organized a workshop on ‘The Role of Academia in Helping Achieve the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs)‘ with the University of Calgary and Bow Valley College for Together 2017.

Lunch Discussion with Jude Fransman

NextGen hosted a lunch discussion with Jude Fransman from Open University (UK) on August 17th, 2017. Jude presented the evidence and politics of participation in cross-sectoral research collaboration for international development