CCCI - CCIC
ACCUEIL RECHERCHE PLAN DU SITE CONTACT ENGLISH

Americas Policy Group

APG brings together approximately 40 Canadian NGOs focused on development and social justice issues in the Americas.

About us What we do Working Groups Media RESSOURCES Members
Africa-Canada Forum
Americas Policy Group
Asia-Pacific Working Group
Coalitions
Food Security Policy Group
Women's Rights Policy Group
Emerging Leaders Network


IMPRIMER

Americas Policy Group

The Americas Policy Group (APG) is a Canadian civil society policy group focused on development and social justice issues in the Americas. It brings together approximately 40 international development and humanitarian NGOs, human rights groups, labour unions, research institutions, church and solidarity groups. The APG is financially supported by its member organizations, CCIC, and the Canadian Partnership Program of the International Development Research Centre (IDRC).

Select one of the categories on the left, or visit our Archives section for past documentation.

Introduction to the Americas Policy Group (APG)

Working Group Value-Added Statement (PDF)

Click here for APG Action Plan 2016-2017 (PDF)

Click here for APG Annual Report 2016-2017 (PDF)

Line

Breakfast on the Hill for Peace in Colombia
December 1, 2016 | Ottawa 
On December 1, the Americas Policy Group, in collaboration with KAIROS Canadian Ecumenical Justice Initiatives, organized a breakfast on Parliament Hill with guest speaker Isabel Caicedo Polanco from the Organización Feminina Popular (OFP), an NGO that promotes women’s rights and works tirelessly for peace in Colombia. Members of Parliament who attended the meeting were touched by Isabel's testimony. This event was an important opportunity to raise parliamentarian’s awareness on the fragile peace process in this South American country and the importance of providing long-term support to grassroots local organizations. Also guest speaker MP Robert Nault, Chair of the Standing Committee on Foreign Affairs and International Development, shared remarks on the Committee’s recent travels to the region and its recent report Supporting peace and development in Guatemala and Colombia for the long-term.  This type of event also provides a space where APG members and Members of Parliament can build relationships and strengthen means of collaboration.

Parliamentary Strategy Workshop for members of the Americas Policy Group
November 22, 2016 | Ottawa 
On November 22, 37 members of CCIC’s Regional Working Groups gathered at the offices of WUSC in Ottawa to learn more on how to build successful relationships with Members of Parliament and advocate effectively for their issues. Both newcomers and experienced members expressed their satisfaction with the analysis of the current political context provided by Velma McColl, Managing Principal at Earnscliffe Strategy Group and by Shaughn McArthur, Advocacy and Government Relations Advisor at CARE Canada. They also appreciated the hands-on tips provided by political staffer Tom Allen, Assistant to MP Cheryl Hardcastle. And the highlight of the workshop was the candid discussion with special guest Anita Vandenbeld, Member of Parliament for Ottawa West — Nepean. The workshop ended with separate strategy sessions for each region: The Americas, Africa and Asia-Pacific.

Engaged Americas Policy Group Meeting in Ottawa
October 3-4, 2016 | Ottawa 
The Americas Policy Group (APG) held its bi-annual meeting on October 3 and 4, 2016 at the offices of CUPW in Ottawa, where 26 members from 23 organizations attended and enjoyed great presentations from partners in Colombia, Honduras and Mexico. In terms of highlights, participants noted that this was the first APG meeting held in three languages (English, French and Spanish), as well as participation in the Solidarity Rally for the Migrant Workers' Caravan. In addition, APG members had a first meeting with MP Karina Gould, Parliamentary Secretary to Minister of International Development and La Francophonie to discuss her trip to Guatemala and Honduras in July 2016. The APG-Mesoamerica and APG-Colombia subgroups also had their meetings. View pictures from the event here on CCIC’s Flickr.

 

Letter to Minister Freeland - Concerns of the Americas Policy Group (APG) with regard to the Fifth Annual Report Pursuant to the Agreement concerning Annual Reports on Human Rights and Free Trade between Canada and the Republic of Colombia - October 19, 2016


Letter to Minister Dion - Americas Policy Group deeply concerned by violence against land and environment defenders in the Americas - October 11, 2016 (PDF)

APG monitors new peace accord in Colombia
September 2016
The Americas Policy Group is watching closely the events in Colombia after the government and the FARC signed a peace agreement. This historic deal is generating hope among Colombians who dream of a better future. APG members have been working for decades to promote respect for human rights and union rights, and for the end of the conflict. Their ties with local organizations have allowed them to forge solid bonds with local populations. The next APG meeting, on October 3 and 4 in Ottawa, will happen right after the Colombian plebiscite, and it will be an opportunity to look at this important agreement and discuss the role of Canada. ¡Viva Colombia!


CCIC's Regional Working Groups are now on social media!
September 2016
Building on a number of existing initiatives, the RWGs have a new communication outreach strategy, with the goal of improving communications amongst members to help them share and network, enhance publicity for their events and campaigns, get their issues on decision makers’ radars and improve their outreach to the public. The RWGs plan to do this through a new shareable calendar and social media engagement. The RWGs will now tweet and share through CCIC’s social media presence, using personalized hashtags for each region (#CCICAmericas, #CCCIAmériques, #CCICAfrica, #CCCIAfrique, #CCICAsiaPacific, #CCCIAsiePacifique).


CCIC and APG its members at The World Social Forum
August 2016 | Montreal
With 35 000 participants from 120 countries, the 12th edition of the World Social Forum in Montreal offered, once again, a unique space for debates and discussions, in order to build a better world. Many CCIC members and members of CCIC's Regional Working Groups were actively involved and organized numerous workshops. For example, CUPE, USW and other unions coordinated activities on labour rights; Oxfam offered activities for and by the youth; Inter Pares held several workshops on equality and social justice; Mining Watch and Kairos held presentations by southern partners on the battle for accountability in the extractive sector and tax justice, among others. CCIC, in collaboration with Voices and CPDE, organized debates on the state of civil society around the world, and also co-organized a workshop on accountability around the SDGs, with AQOCI.

 

APG participates in the International Assistance Review consultations
June 27, 2016 | Ottawa
On June 27th, members of the APG participated in a dialogue with Global Affairs Canada. The objective of this meeting was to discuss Canadian priorities in the region and to make recommendations to the government for the purposes of the review of its international aid policy. Members of the APG made recommendations to the government to rethink its policies and its international aid programs in order to make them more innovative, efficient and relevant. Click here to see full recommendation by APG.



Whose rights are we protecting? Public forum on Trade, Investments and Human Rights
June 7, 2016 | Ottawa
On June 7th, the three CCIC regional working groups organized a public forum on trade and investment agreements and their impact on human rights and the environment. Sanya Reid-Smith, legal advisor at Third World Network, Maude Barlow of the Council of Canadians and the lawyer Steven Shrybman all participated in the debate. The event, which took place in a room filled to capacity, helped to raise awareness about the negative impact of these agreements and to propose alternatives.  The report Whose rights are we protecting? is available in both English and French. This forum was the culmination of the collective work of the Americas Policy Group, the Africa-Canada Forum and the Asia Pacific Working Group.   The regional working groups are inviting the public to get involved by visiting this website: www.canadians.org/TPP.

Letter to Minister Dion - Americas Policy Group expresses its deep concern regarding the situation in Colombia - June 3, 2016 (PDF)


Annual Meeting of the Americas Policy Group
April 2016 | Montreal
The Americas Policy Group held its first annual meeting in Montreal on April 4 and 5th. The members present over teleconference or in person contributed to the quality of the programing with hot topics sessions on Colombia, Honduras and North American Leader’s Summit. Everyone effectively contributed to the APG strategic planning for this year, a crucial year in terms of policy recommendations for the new government.


 

Recent Publications

 

APG Recommendations Regarding Canada-Mexico Bilateral Dialogue on Human Rights 2017 (April 2017) (PDF)

Submission to Global Affairs Canada – International Assistance Review (July 14, 2016) - (PDF)

Canada's Role in the Americas 

Sixth Summit of the Americas in Colombia, April 14-15, 2012


Canada Should Seek a Greater Role beyond Trade in the Americas
- Article by Jim Hodgson and Tara Ward in Development Unplugged blog, Huffington Post Canada (April 29, 2015)

Canada's regional Americas strategy at a crossroads - Op Ed by By Beatriz Gonzalez, Rachel Warden,Julia Sánchez (April 2012)


Briefing Note: Democratic Governance
(April 12, 2012) (433 kb)

Briefing Note: Mining (April 12, 2012) (443 kb)

Briefing Note: Security (April 12, 2012) (351 kb)

Briefing Note: Trade (April 12, 2012) (434 kb)

__________

Statement of the Americas Policy Group – What Role for Canada in the Americas? (April 15, 2009) (PDF 80 Kb)

The 5th Summit of the Americas: Time for a Grand Gesture? – Op-ed by Gerry Barr (April 8, 2009 – Embassy)

line

Human Rights and Democratic Development


The Colombia Working Group Welcomes Steps Towards Peace Agreement in Colombia (October 1, 2015)


Letter to Minister Nicholson on renewal of mandate of the International Commission Against Impunity in Guatemala
(April 21, 2015)



Letter to Senator MacDonald on Colombia
(February 3, 2015)



Three Amigos summit delay a missed opportunity (January 28, 2015)
Op Ed in Embassy


Letter to Minister Baird on 43 disappeared students in Mexico.
(December 17, 2014)


Canada-Honduras Free Trade Agreement: Another example of our country’s poor record on trade and human rights.
Open letter published in Embassy (July 9, 2014)


Letter to Ambassador Savage Regarding Threats to Human Rights Accompaniers in Guatemala, Canadian Ambassador in Guatemala (June 24, 2014)

Canada must call for dialogue amid unrest in Venezuela. Open letter published in Embassy (March 26, 2014)

Guatemala: Canada must break its silence. Open letter published in Embassy (January 10, 2014). Long version of the letter here. Version espanol disponible aqui.


Trade at the Expense of Human Rights?
Open letter published in iPolitics (November 6, 2013)

Why Is Canada Friendly with Repressive Honduran Regime? Op Ed published in Embassy Magazine (May 22, 2013)

Letter to Minister of State of Foreign Affairs Diane Ablonczy regarding security and human rights issues in Guatemala (12 October 2012)

Colectiva de Mujeres Hondureñas (CODEMUH) presentation to the Standing Committee on Foreign Affairs and International Development Hearing on Honduras - in Spanish only (March 9, 2011)

Honduran Centre for the Promotion of Community Development presentation to the Standing Committee on Foreign Affairs and International Development Hearing on Honduras (March 9, 2011)

Plataforma de Derechos Humanos Truth Commission presentation to the Standing Committee on Foreign Affairs and International Development Hearing on Honduras (March 9, 2011)

Amnesty International Canada’s submission to the Standing Committee on Foreign Affairs and International Development Hearing on Honduras, (March 9, 2011).

Read the Hansard Record of the March 9, 2011 Standing Committee on Foreign Affairs and International Development Hearing on Honduras

Honduras: Democracy Denied - Para la versión español de este documento entra aquí. (Spanish version)
The report takes a critical look at the coup in Honduras, key issues for democracy and human rights, and Canada’s role. Specifically, the report reviews Canadian diplomatic efforts during the crisis, as well as the role of Canadian investors and businesses operating in the country prior to and during the coup. The report also makes a number of recommendations to facilitate a return to a strengthened constitutional order, respecting the human rights and development needs of Honduran citizens. (April 2010) (PD 238 Kb) (Executive Summary, PDF 75 Kb)

Letter to Prime Minister Stephen Harper on the coup d'état in Honduras (July 22, 2009) (PDF 72 Kb) (Spanish version

Letter to Minister Peter Kent on the murder of Salvadoran human rights defender and community activist Marcelo Rivera (July 22,  2009) (PDF 81 Kb) (Spanish version)

Letter to Prime Minister Stephen Harper regarding the recent violence and human rights violations in the Amazonas Region of Peru (June 15, 2009) (PDF 54Kb)

Americas Policy Group Welcomes the Release of Colombian Hostages (July 4, 2008)

Letter to the Honourable Maxime Bernier on the recent attacks against NGOs, unions and human rights defenders in Colombia (April 10, 2008) (PDF 23 Kb)

line

Human rights and trade 

Colombia in the shadow of human rights abuses (July 2015)
A report from the Colombia Working Group


Fact Sheet 1: Repression and Human Rights Violations in Colombia (July 2015)

Fact Sheet 2: Labour Rights in Colombia: A Story of Violence (July 2015)

Fact Sheet 3: Land and Restitution (July 2015)


Canadian report on human rights and free trade with Colombia flawed from the get go
(June 16, 2014)


Honduran human rights leader to visit Ottawa and urge MPs to put human rights first (April 3, 2014)


Ottawa falling short on key provision of free-trade deal
- Article in the Globe and Mail (March 29, 2014)

Press release:
Canada/Colombia Free Trade Deal: Meaningless Consultation Process Sells Human Rights Short (March 24, 2014)


Another non-report on human rights and trade with Colombia
- Op Ed in Embassy (June 26, 2013)

Conservatives reneged on agreement to study impact of free trade on human rights in Colombia- Article in the Globe and Mail (June 2013)

Analysis of the Canadian Government’s First Human Rights Report on the Canada-Colmbia FTA - briefing note (May 2012)

First Colombian trade deal human rights report is a disappointment - Op-ed by Brittany Lambert and Raul Burbano (May 2012)

UN Human Rights Expert Puts Spotlight Back on Controversial Canada-Colombia FTA - media release (May 2012)

Canada-Colombia Free Trade Agreement Human Rights Impact Report - briefing note (May 2012).

Human rights accountability in trade with Colombia - Op-ed by Gauri Sreenivasan (August 2011 - Embassy)

CCIC Briefing Note: Key Benchmarks for a Human Rights Impact Assessment for the Canada-Colombia Free Trade Agreement (June 2009) (PDF 69 Kb)

Making a Bad Situation Worse: An Analysis of the Text of the Canada-Colombia Free Trade Agreement – While trade can support development and the realization of human rights, the authors find that neither the political conditions in Colombia, nor the terms of this FTA meet the criteria that would allow that to happen. (in Spanish)  (March 26, 2009) (PDF 934 Kb)

Conducting a Human Rights Impact Assessment of the Canada-Colombia Free Trade Agreement:  Key Issues (February 2009) (PDF 101 Kb)

Colombian Visitors Oppose Trade Deal With Canada – Canadian Press article (February 10, 2009 - Toronto Star) (PDF 29 Kb)


Signing Free Trade Pact With Colombia Presents Grave Human Rights Concerns
 – Joint Statement: AI and CCIC (November 24, 2008) (PDF 29 Kb)

TOP
 
  • FLASH
  • Employment
  • 10-point agenda
  • Istanbul Principles
  • Code of Ethics
  • Become a Member
  • MEMBERS SPACE
  • CCIC Publications
  • Employment

CCCI - CCIC
ACCUEIL RECHERCHE PLAN DU SITE CONTACT ENGLISH

Groupe d'orientation politique pour les Amériques

Le GOPA réunit une quarantaine d’ONG canadiennes qui se consacrent aux questions de développement et de justice sociale en Amérique.

À PROPOS NOS INTÉRÊTS GROUPES DE TRAVAIL MÉDIAS RESSOURCES MEMBRES
Forum Afrique-Canada
Groupe d'orientation politique pour les Amériques
Groupe de travail Asie-Pacifique
Coalitions
Groupe de réflexion sur la sécurité alimentaire
Groupe de travail sur les droits des femmes


IMPRIMER

Groupe d'orientation politique pour les Amériques

Groupe d'orientation politique pour les Amériques (GOPA) : le travail du GOPA qui rassemble près de 40 organisations de la société civile porte sur les questions de développement et de justice sociale. Le Groupe compte parmi ses membres des ONG d'action humanitaire et de développement international, des groupes pour la défense des droits, des syndicats, des établissements de recherche et des groupes de solidarité et d'allégeance religieuse. Il est financé par les organisations membres, le CCCI et le Programme des partenariats canadiens du Centre de recherches pour le développement international (CRDI).

GOPA 2016

Pour d’autres renseignements, visiter la section Archives. Introduction au Groupe d'orientation politique pour les Amériques (GOPA)

Valeur ajoutée des groupes de travail (PDF)

Cliquez ici pour le plan de travail du GOPA 2016-2017 (PDF)


 

Le déjeuner du GOPA sur la Colline pour la paix en Colombie
1 décembre 2016 | Ottawa 
Le 1er décembre, le Groupe d'orientation politique pour les Amériques, en collaboration avec KAIROS - Initiatives œcuméniques canadiennes pour la justice, a organisé un déjeuner sur la Colline du Parlement avec la conférencière Isabel Caicedo Polanco, de l'Organización Feminina Popular (OFP), une ONG qui promeut les droits des femmes et qui travaille sans relâche pour la paix en Colombie. Les membres du Parlement qui ont assisté à la réunion ont été touchés par le témoignage d'Isabel. Cet événement a été une occasion importante de sensibiliser les parlementaires au fragile processus de paix dans ce pays d'Amérique du Sud et à l'importance de fournir un soutien à long terme aux organismes communautaires locaux. L'autre conférencier, le député Robert Nault, président du Comité permanent des affaires étrangères et du développement international, a partagé ses observations suite aux voyages récents du Comité dans la région et à la publication récente d'un rapport Appuyer la paix et le développement à long terme au Guatemala et en Colombie. Ce type d'événement offre également un espace où les membres du GOPA et les membres du Parlement peuvent créer des liens et renforcer les moyens de collaboration.

 

Atelier sur la stratégie parlementaire pour les membres du GOPA
22 novembre 2016 | Ottawa 
Le 22 novembre, 37 membres des groupes de travail régionaux du CCCI se sont réunis dans les locaux de l'EUMC à Ottawa pour en apprendre davantage sur la façon de bâtir des relations avec les députés et de plaider efficacement pour leurs enjeux. Tant les nouveaux membres que les membres plus expérimentés ont exprimé leur satisfaction par rapport à l'analyse de la conjoncture politique fournie par Velma McColl, associée principale chez Earnscliffe Strategy Group et par Shaughn McArthur, conseiller en relations gouvernementales et au plaidoyer à CARE Canada. Ils ont également apprécié les conseils pratiques fournis un par membre du personnel politique, Tom Allen, assistant de la députée Cheryl Hardcastle. Et le point culminant de l'atelier a été la discussion franche avec l'invitée spéciale Anita Vandenbeld, députée d'Ottawa-Ouest-Nepean. L'atelier s'est terminé par des séances de stratégie distinctes pour chaque région : les Amériques, l'Afrique et l'Asie-Pacifique.


Rencontre engagée du Groupe d’orientation politique pour les Amériques à Ottawa

3-4 octobre, 2016 | Ottawa 
SaraLe Groupe d’orientation politique pour les Amériques (GOPA) a tenu sa réunion biannuelle les 3 et 4 octobre au bureau du STTP à Ottawa, où 26 membres de 23 organisations ont pu profiter de présentations dynamiques de partenaires en Colombie, au Honduras et au Mexique. Il s’agissait de la première réunion du GOPA tenue en trois langues (anglais, français et espagnol), et les participants ont pu profiter de la présence des membres au Rassemblement de solidarité pour la Caravane des travailleurs migrants.  Par ailleurs, le GOPA a eu une première rencontre avec la députée Karina Gould, secrétaire parlementaire de la ministre du Développement international et de La Francophonie pour discuter de sa récente visite au Guatemala et au Honduras en juillet 2016. Les sous-groupes GOPA-Mésoamérique et GOPA-Colombie ont également tenu leur rencontre. Pour voir toutes les photos, veuillez visiter le Flickr du CCCI.

Lettre à la Ministre Freeland - Préoccupations du GOPA envers le 5e rapport concernant les rapports annuels sur les droits de l'homme et le libre échange entre le Canada et la Colombie (en anglais seulement)- 19 octobre 2016

Lettre du GOPA au Ministre des Affaires étrangères concernant la violence contre les défenseurs de la terre et de l'environnement dans les Amériques 11 octobre 2016 (PDF)


Le GOPA suit l'évolution du nouvel accord de paix en Colombie

Septembre 2016
Le Groupe d'orientation politique pour les Amériques (GOPA) surveille étroitement les événements en Colombie suite à la signature de l'accord de paix entre le gouvernement et le FARC. Cet accord historique génère beaucoup d'espoir chez les Colombiens, qui rêvent d'un avenir meilleur. Les membres du GOPA travaillent depuis des décennies à promouvoir le respect des droits humains et des droits syndicaux, et pour demander la fin du conflit.  Les relations qu'ils entretiennent avec des organisations locales leur ont permis de forger de liens forts avec les populations locales.  La prochaine rencontre du GOPA, les 3 et 4 octobre à Ottawa, aura lieu juste après le plébiscite colombien. Ce sera donc une bonne occasion d'examiner cet accord important et de discuter du rôle du Canada. ¡Viva Colombia!

Les groupes de travail régionaux maintenant présents sur les médias sociaux
Septembre 2016
En s'appuyant sur un certain nombre d'initiatives existantes, les groupes de travail régionaux (GTR) du CCCI ont développé une nouvelle stratégie de communication et de sensibilisation. Celle-ci a pour but d'améliorer les communications entre les membres afin de les aider à partager et à réseauter; d'accroître la publicité pour leurs événements et campagnes; de positionner leurs enjeux sur l'écran radar des décideurs; et d'améliorer leur rayonnement auprès du public.  Les GTR prévoient atteindre ces objectifs grâce à un nouveau calendrier partagé et à leur présence sur les médias sociaux. Les GTR vont dorénavant être actifs sur les médias sociaux, à travers les comptes du CCCI, en utilisant des mots-clics personnalisés pour chacune des régions (#CCICAmericas, #CCCIAmériques, #CCICAfrica, #CCCIAfrique, #CCICAsiaPacific, #CCCIAsiePacifique).

Le CCCI et membres du GOPA au Forum social mondial
Août 2016 | Montréal
Avec la participation de plus de 35 000 personnes provenant de 120 pays, la 12e édition du Forum social mondial qui s'est déroulé à Montréal a offert encore une fois un espace extraordinaire de débats et de discussions pour la construction d'un monde meilleur. Plusieurs membres du CCCI et des groupes de travail régionaux ont été très actifs et ont organisé plusieurs ateliers. Par exemple, le SCFP,  le Syndicat des métallos (USW) et d'autres syndicats ont coordonné des activités sur les droits des travailleurs; Oxfam a proposé des activités organisées pour et par les jeunes; et Mines Alerte Canada et Kairos ont organisé des présentations de leurs partenaires du Sud sur la lutte pour la reddition de compte dans le secteur extractif et sur la justice fiscale.  Le CCCI, en collaboration avec Voices-Voix et le CPDE, a organisé un débat sur l'état de la société civile à travers le monde, et il a co-organisé avec l’AQOCI un atelier sur la reddition de compte pour les ODD.

 

Rencontre annuelle du Groupe d'orientation politique pour les AmériquesAvril 2016 | Montréal
Le Groupe d'orientation politique pour les Amériques a tenu sa première rencontre annuelle à Montréal les 4 et 5 avril. Les membres présents en personne et via téléconférence ont contribué à la qualité de la programmation avec des séances sur la Colombie, le Honduras et le Sommet des leaders nord-américains. Chacun a contribué pleinement à la planification stratégique du GOPA pour l'année qui vient, une année cruciale en termes de recommandations politiques pour le nouveau gouvernement.

Lettre du GOPA au Ministre des Affaires étrangères concernant la répression des défenseurs des droits humains en Colombie (en anglais seulement) 3 juin 2015 (PDF)

 

Publications récentes

Soumission du GOPA sur les consultations sur l’aide internationale du Canada (en anglais seulement) 14 juillet 2016 (PDF)



Évènements récents

line

Le rôle du Canada dans les Amériques 

Sixième Sommet des Amériques en Colombie, 14-15 avril 2012

Repositionner le Canada au sein des Amériques - Article de Jim Hodgson et Tara Ward publié dans Le Devoir (28 avril 2015)

Canada's regional Americas strategy at a crossroads - Lettre d'opinion par Beatriz Gonzalez, Rachel Warden et Julia Sánchez (Avril 2012) (disponible en anglais seulement)

Note d’information : Gouvernance démocratique (12 avril 2012) (441 kb)

Note d'information: L'exploitation minière (12 avril 2012) (520 kb)

Note d'information: La sécurité (12 avril 2012) (436 kb)

Note d'information: Les accords commerciaux (12 avril 2012) (438 kb)

____________

Déclaration du Groupe d’orientation politique pour les Amériques – Quel rôle doit jouer le Canada dans les Amériques ? (le 15 avril 2009) (PDF 102 Kb)

The 5th Summit of the Americas: Time for a Grand Gesture? – Commentaire signé par Gerry Barr (le 8 avril 2009 – Embassy) (disponible en anglais seulement)

line

Droits de la personne et développement démocratique


The Colombia Working Group Welcomes Steps Towards Peace Agreement in Colombia
(1er octobre 2015) (en anglais seulement)


Letter to Minister Nicholson on renewal of mandate of the International Commission Against Impunity in Guatemala
(21 avril 2015) (en anglais seulement)

Letter to Senator MacDonald on Colombia (3 février 2015) (anglais seulement)

Three Amigos summit delay a missed opportunity (28 janvier 2015)
Op Ed in Embassy (anglais seulement)


L'Accord de libre-échange Canada-Honduras: brasser des affaires à tout prix?
Article paru dans le Huffington Post Québec (31 août 2014)


Le Canada doit appeler au dialogue pour calmer l'agitation régnant au Vénézuela
(26 mars 2014)


Le Canada doit rompre le silence devant l’annulation du verdict rendu contre Rios Montt
. Version longue d'une lettre publiée en anglais dans Embassy. Version espanol disponible aqui.

Le commerce aux dépens des droits de la personne? Traduction d'une lettre ouverte publiée dans iPolitics (6 novembre 2013)

Why Is Canada Friendly with Repressive Honduran Regime? Lettre d'opinion en anglais publiée dans Embassy Magazine (22 mai, 2013)

Présentation par la Colectiva de Mujeres Hondureñas (CODEMUH)au Comité permanent des affaires étrangères et du commerce international en vue de son audience sur le Honduras - en espanol seulement (le 9 mars 2011)

Présentation par le Centre hondurien pour la promotion du développement communautaire au Comité permanent des affaires étrangères et du commerce international en vue de son audience sur le Honduras (le 9 mars 2011)

Présentation du Plataforma de Derechos Humanos Truth Commission au Comité permanent des affaires étrangères et du commerce international en vue de son audience sur le Honduras (le 9 mars 2011) (en anglais seulement)

Mémoire présenté par Amnistie Internationale Canada au Comité permanent des affaires étrangères et du commerce international en vue de son audience sur le Honduras (le 9 mars 2011)

Lire les témoignages de 9 mars 2011 du Comité permanent des affaires étrangères et du commerce international

Honduras : Atteinte à la démocratie -- Para la versión español de este documento entra aquí. version espagnole
Ce rapport pose un regard critique sur le coup d’État perpétré au Honduras, les questions de démocratie et de droits de la personne qu’il soulève et la responsabilité du Canada dans ce dossier. Sur ce dernier point, le rapport examine plus précisément les efforts diplomatiques du Canada pendant la crise et le rôle joué par les investisseurs et les dirigeants d’entreprises canadiens au Honduras avant et pendant le coup d’État. Le rapport contient une série de recommandations pouvant faciliter le retour à la démocratie et le renforcement de l’ordre constitutionnel au Honduras, seule façon d’assurer le respect des droits des citoyens et leurs besoins en matière de développement.(avril 2010) (PDF 245 Kb) (Sommaire, PDF 76 Kb)

Lettre au premier ministre Stephen Harper sur le coup d'état en Honduras (le 22 juillet 2009) (PDF 72 Kb) (version espagnole

Lettre au ministre Peter Kent sur la mort de Marcelo Rivera, un ardent défenseur salvadorien des droits de la personne et un militant communautaire.(le 22 juillet 2009) (PDF 81 Kb) (version espagnole

Lettre au premier ministre Stephen Harper portant sur la violence et les atteintes aux droits de la personne dans la région amazonienne du Pérou (le 15 juin 2009) (PDF 54 Kb) (disponible en anglais seulement)

Le Groupe d'orientation politique pour les Amériques applaudit à la libération d'otages colombiens (le 4 juillet 2008)

Lettre à l'Honourable Maxime Bernier sur les attaques contre les ONG, les syndicats et les défenseurs des droits de la personne en Colombie (le 10 avril 2008) (PDF 23 Kb)

line

Droits humains et commerce 

La Colombie dans l'ombre des abus de droits humains (Juillet 2015)
Un rapport du Groupe de travail conjoint sur la Colombie

Fiche d'information 1: Répression et violation des droits de la personne en Colombie (Juillet 2015)

Fiche d'information 2: Les droits des travailleurs en Colombie: une histoire de violence (Juillet 2015)

Fiche d'information 3: Terres et restitution (Juillet 2015)


Droits de la personne et libre-échange en Colombie: le rapport du gouvernement canadien faussé dès le départ
(16 juin 2014)


Honduran human rights leader to visit Ottawa and urge MPs to put human rights first (April 3, 2014) (disponible en anglais seulement)


Ottawa falling short on key provision of free-trade deal
- Article in the Globe and Mail (29 mars 2014) (disponible en anglais seulement)


Communiqué de presse:
Accord de libre-échange Canada-Colombie : un processus de consultation insignifiant qui déshonore les droits de la personne (25 mars 2014)


Another non-report on human rights and trade with Colombia
- Lettre d'opinion dans Embassy (26 juin 2013) (disponible en anglais seulement)

Lettre à Ministre d'État des Affaires étrangères (Amériques et Affaires consulaires)Diane Ablonczy concernant la situation actuelle du sécurité et droits de la personne au Guatemala (12 octobre 2012) (disponible en anglais seulement)

First Colombian trade deal human rights report is a disappointment - Lettre d'opinion de Brittany Lambert et Raul Burbano (Mai 2012) (disponible en anglais seulement)

Human rights accountability in trade with Colombia - opinions du lecteur par Gauri Sreenivasan (août 2011 - Embassy) (disponible en anglais seulement)

Document d'information du CCCI : Principaux points repères pour un examen des répercussions de l'Accord de libre-échange Canada-Colombie (ALECC) sur les droits de la personne (juin 2009) (72 Kb)

Aggraver une situation problématique : analyse du texte de l’Accord de libre-échange Canada-Colombie - Bien que le commerce puisse contribuer au développement et à la réalisation des droits de la personne, les auteurs affirment que ni la situation politique en Colombie, ni les modalités de l'ALE Canada-Colombie ne répondent aux critères qui permettraient d'y arriver. (en espagnol) (PDF 982 Kb) (le 26 mars 2009)

Impact de l'Accord de libre-échange Canada-Colombie sur les droits de la personne : Princicpaux enjeux (février 2009) (PDF 102 Kb)

Colombian Visitors Oppose Trade Deal With Canada – Canadian Press article (le 10 février 2009 -Toronto Star) (PDF 29 Kb) (disponible en anglais seulement)

Signing Free Trade Pact With Colombia Presents Grave Human Rights Concerns – Joint Statement: AI and CCIC (le 24 novembre 2008) (PDF 29 Kb)  (disponible en anglais seulement)

 


TOP
 
  • FLASH
  • Emploi
  • Programme en 10 points
  • Principes d'Istanbul
  • Code d'éthique
  • Devenez membre
  • COIN DES MEMBRES
  • Publications du CCCI
  • Emploi