CCCI - CCIC
ACCUEIL RECHERCHE PLAN DU SITE CONTACT ENGLISH

Canadian Council for International Co-operation

The Council is a coalition of Canadian voluntary sector organizations working globally to achieve sustainable human development.

About us What we do Working Groups Media RESSOURCES Members
Aid Policy
Trade, Investment and Corporate Accountability
International Policy
Peace-building and Humanitarian Response
Capacities for Policy Influence
Next Generation | CCIC-CASID Program
Public Engagement
Ethics
Organizational Development
Voluntary Sector
CSO Development Effectiveness
Charity Law Education Project
Environmental Justice
DFATD


IMPRIMER

Peace-building and Humanitarian Response

Séparateur


Civil Society Group Statement to the 5th Regional Platform for Disaster Risk Reduction in the Americas
Montreal, Canada, 7-9 March 2017

We, civil society organizations from the Americas Region, hereby come to express our contributions and commitments to support implementation of the Sendai Framework for Disaster Risk Reduction.


Achieving Impact Where it Matters: A Joint Statement by Civil Society Coalitions on the Implementation of the Post-2015 Framework for Disaster Risk Reduction.

The Hyogo Framework for Action on Disaster Risk Reduction (HFA) has provided critical guidance to reduce disaster risk. Its implementation has, however, highlighted gaps in addressing the underlying risk factors and effectively safeguarding communities. Evidence at the local level indicates that impacts are increasing. This is due to policies and plans not adequately addressing the reality on the ground. In particular, this includes the constant threat of small-scale, recurrent, localized disasters. However, these disasters are largely unacknowledged and unrecorded, leaving communities to fend for themselves.

In order to build on the successes of the HFA and address its shortcomings, the Post-2015 Disaster Risk Reduction (DRR) Framework must work to address reality at the local level. The new framework calls for actors to identify their roles in implementation. (March 2015) (PDF 467 KB)

 

Haiti Donor Conference: Principles and Recommendations for International NGO Participation in Recovery, Reconstruction and Development.  A Joint Paper of NGO Platforms from Brazil, Canada, Chile, Europe, France, Spain, and the United States. (March 31, 2010)


Haiti:  Canada hosting International Donor Conference on Haiti

The human toll of the devastating earthquake in Haiti last week is just beginning to emerge.  The Government of Haiti estimates 100,000 people killed and the International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies (IFRC) approximate some 3.5 million individuals affected.  These shocking numbers only begin to tell the story of disaster.  Poverty, state breakdown, political instability, and environmental degradation, have all played their share in ensuring last week’s earthquake inflicted terrible damage. (January 19, 2010) (PDF 66 kb) 


Canada's Humanitarian Donorship: A Working Paper

The paper examines issues of volume, timeliness, flexibility and the extent to which funds for humanitarian assistance are allocated according to needs.  The working paper presents the perspectives and priorities of Canadian humanitarian agencies vis-à-vis Canada’s humanitarian donorship and its consistency with the spirit of the Good Humanitarian Donorship principles. As a working paper, it is open for review and is intended  to stimulate discussion. (November 2009) (PDF 232 Kb)

Séparateur
Fragile Peace in a Volatile World:
What Role for Canada in Supporting Peace Processes?

Synthesis Report – Policy Seminar June 10, 2009 – Ottawa ON (PDF 248 Kb)

Breakout Group recommendations – June 22, 2009 (PDF 134 Kb)

On June 10, 2009 CCIC helda one-day seminar and strategizing meeting with civil society organizations,  academics, and conflict resolution practitioners to develop a shared policy agenda for strengthening Canada’s role in supporting peace processes.  The draft agenda and background materials are available on CCIC's website.
   Séparateur
Promoting an Inclusive Peace:
A Call to Strengthen Canada's Peace-Making Capacity
This series of four discussion papers examines Canada's experience in supporting peace processes and calls for Canada to do more to support global peace-making efforts. Part One explores why Canada and other donors should support peace-making efforts. Part Two examines the Canadian policy landscape to support peace processes and peace-building. Part Three called Peace and Justice in Northern Uganda provides good practice and lessons learned from the Juba Peace Talks between the Lords Resistance Army (LRA) and the Government of Uganda. Part Four calls on Canada to re-commit to supporting peace in the Democratic Republic of Congo and provides an overview of recent peace initiatives in the DRC. Research for this series of papers has been supported by the Walter and Duncan Gordon Foundation.

Is Canada turning its back on the Democratic Republic of Congo? – Peace in the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC) remains illusory, despite a number of on-going peace efforts. Unless the international community, including Canada, remains engaged, the country runs the risk of being subsumed by violence, according to a report released by the Canadian Council for International Co-operation (CCIC). (PDF 157 Kb) (November 12, 2008)

Séparateur
Canada in Afghanistan

In the context of the international conference on Afghanistan that takes place this week in London, CCIC is calling for increased  focus on security and protection of civilians; effective socio-economic development; accountable governance and democratic institutions; and dialogue and reconciliation. Read the letter that was sent to Foreign Affairs Minister Lawrence Canon to this effect. (January 27, 2010)

Growing Insecurity for Civilians in Afghanistan: What Canada and NATO Need to Do 
Aid in the Crosshairs: Civil-Military Relations in Afghanistan, a CCIC briefing note, documents the growing insecurity experienced by Afghan civilians and aid workers and points to the perceived association between international military forces and civilian aid efforts as a key cause. It recommends measures Canada and like-minded allies can take to enhance civilian security, humanitarian access, development effectiveness and peace-building and reconciliation. (briefing note) (April 1, 2009)

Letter to Prime Minister Stephen Harper on the eve of the Strasbourg NATO Summit (3-4 April) (PDF 17 Kb) (March 26, 2009)

Afghanistan:  A Study on the Prospects for Peace calls on the international community to support peace efforts – Is peace in Afghanistan possible? Findings released today in Afghanistan: A Study on the Prospects for Peace, show that a number of nascent peace efforts are, in fact, already underway. These peace efforts, however, are disconnected and lack support from the international community. (March 2008) (PDF 178 Kb)

Séparateur

TOP
 
  • FLASH
  • Employment
  • 10-point agenda
  • Istanbul Principles
  • Code of Ethics
  • Become a Member
  • MEMBERS SPACE
  • CCIC Publications
  • Employment

CCCI - CCIC
ACCUEIL RECHERCHE PLAN DU SITE CONTACT ENGLISH

conseil canadien pour la coopération internationale

Le Conseil est une coalition d’organisations du secteur bénévole canadien œuvrant à l’échelle internationale pour un développement humain viable.

À PROPOS NOS INTÉRÊTS GROUPES DE TRAVAIL MÉDIAS RESSOURCES MEMBRES
Programme d'aide
Commerce, investissement et responsabilisation des entreprises
Politique internationale
Rétablissement de la paix et interventions humanitaires
Capacité d’influer sur les politiques
Prochaine Génération | Programme CCCI-ACÉDI
Engagement du public
Programme d'éthique
Développement organisationnel
Secteur bénévole et communautaire
Efficacité des OSC en matière de développement
Formation juridique pour les organismes de bienfaisance
Justice environnementale
MAECD


IMPRIMER

 

Rétablissement de la paix et interventions humanitaires

Séparateur

Déclaration de la société civile à la 5e Plateforme régionale
sur la réduction des risques de catastrophes dans les Amériques

Montréal, Canada, du 7 au 9 mars 2017

Nous, organisations de la société civile de la région des Amériques, déclarons par la présente notre contribution et nos engagements en vue de mettre en oeuvre le Cadre d’action de Sendai pour la réduction des risques de catastrophes.



Conférence internationale des donateurs en Haïti
: Principes et recommandations pour la participation des ONG internationales à la reconstruction et au développement d’Haïti. Déclaration conjointe des plate-formes d’ONG du Brésil, du Canada, du Chili, d’Europe , d’Espagne, de France et des États-Unis. (le 31 mars 2010)


Haiti : Le Canada sera l’hôte d’une conférence internationale des donateur

Le bilan des pertes humaines considérables causées par le séisme meurtrier qui a secoué Haïti la semaine dernière commence tout juste à se profiler. Le gouvernement d’Haïti estime que 100 000 personnes ont trouvé la mort tandis que la Fédération internationale des sociétés de la Croix-Rouge et du Croissant-Rouge estime à quelque 3,5 millions celles qui sont atteintes.   Ces chiffres criants ne sont que le prologue d’une histoire d’horreur.  La pauvreté, l’instabilité politique, la dégradation de l’environnement et l’effondrement de l’État sont autant de facteurs ayant contribué aux dommages considérables causés par le tremblement de terre de la semaine dernière.(le 19 janvier 2010) (PDF 68 kb)


L'aide humanitaire du Canada : Un document de travail

Ce document analyse certains aspects de l’action humanitaire dont le volume, la rapidité d’exécution et l’adaptabilité, et cherche à savoir dans quelle mesure les fonds destinés à l’aide sont attribués selon les besoins. Le document de travail présente les points de vue et les priorités d’organisations humanitaires canadiennes à l’égard de l’action humanitaire du Canada et de son respect des bonnes pratiques d’action humanitaire (Good humanitarian donorship). Ce document de travail cherche notamment à susciter les commentaires ainsi qu’à soulever des discussions. (novembre 2009) (PDF 179)

Séparateur

Fragilité de la paix dans un monde en constante évolution :
Quel est le rôle du Canada dans les processus de paix ?

Rapport de synthèse – Colloque et séance de stratégie -  le 10 Juin, 2009 – Ottawa (Ontario) (PDF 284 Kb)

Recommandations des petits groupes – le 22 juin 2009 (PDF 151 Kb)


Le 10 juin 2009, le CCCI a tenu un colloque et une séance de stratégie. Des organisations de la société civile, des universitaires et des intervenants en matière de résolution de conflits se réuniront à cette occasion pour mettre au point un plan d’action commun en vue de renforcer l’appui du Canada aux processus de paix. L'ordre du jour et la documentation sont affichés sur le site Web du CCCI.

Séparateur
Promouvoir une paix universelle : Un appel au renforcement de capacités du Canada en matière de rétablissement de la paix

La série de quatre documents de réflexion se veut une analyse la participation du Canada aux divers processus de paix et plaide en faveur d'un appui plus soutenu du Canada aux efforts de rétablissement de la paix dans le monde. La première partie expose les raisons pour lesquelles le Canada et les autres donateurs devraient soutenir les efforts de rétablissement de la paix. La deuxième partie porte sur l'ensemble des politiques canadiennes en matière de processus de paix et de rétablissement de la paix. La troisième partie, intitulée La paix et la justice dans le Nord de l'Ouganda, présente des éléments de bonne pratique ainsi que les leçons retenues à la suite des pourparlers de paix tenus à Juba entre l'Armée de résistance du Seigneur (LRA) et le gouvernement de l'Ouganda. Dans la quatrième partie, les auteurs demandent au Canada de réitérer son soutien à la paix en République démocratique du Congo (RDC), et donnent un aperçu des plus récentes initiatives de paix en RDC. La recherche sur laquelle s'appuie cette série de documents de réflexion a été rendue possible grâce à l'appui financier de la Walter and Duncan Foundation.

Le Canada serait-il en train de tourner le dos à la République démocratique du Congo ? La résolution du conflit en République démocratique du Congo (RDC) demeure illusoire malgré de nombreux efforts de paix. Selon un rapport rendu public par le Conseil canadien pour la coopération internationale (CCCI), le pays court le risque de submerger dans la violence à moins que la communauté internationale, y compris le Canada, ne maintienne un engagement en RDC. (le 12 novembre 2008) (PDF 172 Kb)

Séparateur

Le Canada en Afghanistan

Dans le cadre de la conférence internationale sur l’Afghanistan qui se tient à Londres cette semaine, le CCCI demande au gouvernement de se concentrer davantage sur la sécurité et la protection des citoyens; d’assurer un développement socioéconomique efficace; de veiller à une reddition de comptes; de mettre en place des institutions démocratiques; et de promouvoir le dialogue et la réconciliation. Consultez la lettre que nous avons fait parvenir au ministre des Affaires étrangères, Lawrence Cannon, à ce sujet. (le 27 janvier 2010)

L'insécurité menace de plus en plus les civils afghans : le rôle du Canada et de l'OTAN 
L’aide dans le collimateur : Les relations civilo-militaires en Afghanistan, un document d’information du CCCI, montre que l'insécurité menace de plus en plus les civils afghans et les travailleurs de l'aide, et que les liens perçus entre les forces militaires internationales et les travailleurs de l'aide en sont l'une des causes importantes. Le document recommende des mesures que le Canada et ses alliés aux vues similaires peuvent prendre pour améliorer la  sécurité des civils, l’accès humanitaire, l’efficacité du développement ainsi que la consolidation de la paix et la réconciliation. (document d’information) (le 1er avril 2009)

Lettre au premier ministre Stephen Harper, à la veille du Sommet de l'OTAN qui se tiendra à Strasbourg les 3 et 4 avril. (PDF 18 Kb) (le 26 mars 2009)

Afghanistan : Examen des perspectives de paix demande que la communauté internationale appuie les efforts de paix - L'Afghanistan peut-il vivre dans la paix ? D'après les résultats du rapport Afghanistan : Examen des perspectives de paix publié aujourd'hui, bon nombre d'efforts de paix à l'état naissant sont, en fait, déjà en cours. Ces derniers sont toutefois décousus et manquent de soutien de la part de la communauté internationale. (mars 2008) (PDF 137 Kb)

Séparateur

 


TOP
 
  • FLASH
  • Emploi
  • Programme en 10 points
  • Principes d'Istanbul
  • Code d'éthique
  • Devenez membre
  • COIN DES MEMBRES
  • Publications du CCCI
  • Emploi