CCCI - CCIC
ACCUEIL RECHERCHE PLAN DU SITE CONTACT ENGLISH

Canadian Council for International Co-operation

The Council is a coalition of Canadian voluntary sector organizations working globally to achieve sustainable human development.

About us What we do Working Groups Media RESSOURCES Members
Aid Policy
Trade, Investment and Corporate Accountability
International Policy
Peace-building and Humanitarian Response
Capacities for Policy Influence
Next Generation | CCIC-CASID Program
Public Engagement
Ethics
Organizational Development
Voluntary Sector
CSO Development Effectiveness
Charity Law Education Project
Environmental Justice
DFATD


IMPRIMER

Charity Law Education Project

Over the past few decades, international development policy and practice have evolved towards emphasizing the strengthening of local capacity to drive sustainable economic and social development. The emphasis is placed on "local ownership", "local empowerment", "autonomous local civil society", and support, with core funding, for local organizations working to alleviate poverty. Increasingly, development organizations have adopted such principles and practices, taking an approach to international cooperation that is considered more progressive and more effective than traditional Northern-controlled, Northern-driven approaches.

This evolving reality of development may seem to contradict the requirement for Canadian charities to have "direction and control" of international development activities. Direction and control are emphasized by the regulations and laws in Canada, in particular the provisions of the Income Tax Act (ITA) with respect to foreign activities and accountability. The challenge for Canadian charities working overseas is to meet the requirements of compliance with the ITA while supporting and encouraging Southern-driven, locally-owned models of development.

The Charity Law Education Project was developed in the context of a two-year agreement implemented by the Canadian Council for International Co-operation (CCIC) with financial support from the Canada Revenue Agency (CRA). The goal of the project is to assist Canadian international development charities with overseas activities, by enhancing their capacity to increase compliance with Income Tax Act requirements.

 

 

 

TOP
 
  • FLASH
  • Employment
  • 10-point agenda
  • Istanbul Principles
  • Code of Ethics
  • Become a Member
  • MEMBERS SPACE
  • CCIC Publications
  • Employment

CCCI - CCIC
ACCUEIL RECHERCHE PLAN DU SITE CONTACT ENGLISH

conseil canadien pour la coopération internationale

Le Conseil est une coalition d’organisations du secteur bénévole canadien œuvrant à l’échelle internationale pour un développement humain viable.

À PROPOS NOS INTÉRÊTS GROUPES DE TRAVAIL MÉDIAS RESSOURCES MEMBRES
Programme d'aide
Commerce, investissement et responsabilisation des entreprises
Politique internationale
Rétablissement de la paix et interventions humanitaires
Capacité d’influer sur les politiques
Prochaine Génération | Programme CCCI-ACÉDI
Engagement du public
Programme d'éthique
Développement organisationnel
Secteur bénévole et communautaire
Efficacité des OSC en matière de développement
Formation juridique pour les organismes de bienfaisance

Guide

Cours

Ressources de l'Agence du revenu du Canada

Coordonnées

Justice environnementale
MAECD


IMPRIMER

Formation juridique pour les organismes de bienfaisance

Au cours des dernières décennies, la politique et les pratiques de développement international ont subi des transformations de manière à préconiser le renforcement des capacités locales de tenir les rênes des développements économique et social durables. L'accent porte sur la « prise en charge locale », le « renforcement de l'autonomie locale », l'« autonomie de la société civile locale », et sur le soutien, sous forme de financement de base, accordé aux organisations locales qui oeuvrent pour l'atténuation de la pauvreté. De plus en plus, les organisations de développement embrassent de tels principes et pratiques en adoptant une approche à la coopération internationale que tous estiment plus progressive et efficace que les approches traditionnelles contrôlées et gérées par le Nord.

Une telle réalité changeante du développement peut sembler en contradiction avec l'exigence à laquelle sont assujetties les organisations caritatives canadiennes de conserver « la direction et le contrôle » des activités de développement international. Les lois et règlements du Canada, en particulier les dispositions de la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu (LIR) portant sur les activités à l'étranger et la reddition de comptes, soulignent avec force les questions de direction et de contrôle. La difficulté pour les organismes de bienfaisance canadiens oeuvrant outre-mer est de satisfaire aux exigences de la LIR tout en appuyant et en favorisant les modèles de développement pris en charge localement par le Sud.

Le projet sur la Formation juridique pour les organismes de bienfaisance, a été élaboré dans le cadre d'un accord biennal mis en oeuvre par le Conseil canadien pour la coopération internationale (CCCI) grâce au soutien financier de l'Agence du revenu du Canada (ARC). L'objectif du projet est d'aider les organisations caritatives canadiennes vouées au développement international et qui exercent des activités outre-mer à accroître leur capacité d'améliorer leur observation des exigences de la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu.

 

 


TOP
 
  • FLASH
  • Emploi
  • Programme en 10 points
  • Principes d'Istanbul
  • Code d'éthique
  • Devenez membre
  • COIN DES MEMBRES
  • Publications du CCCI
  • Emploi