CCCI - CCIC
ACCUEIL RECHERCHE PLAN DU SITE CONTACT ENGLISH

Resources

Find out more. Do more. Stay connected.

About us What we do Working Groups Media RESSOURCES Members
Publications
Archives


IMPRIMER

 

President-CEO

CCIC

The Canadian Council for International Co-operation (the Council) is looking for a new President-CEO to lead Canada’s preeminent coalition of voluntary organizations working globally to end poverty, promote social justice, and achieve sustainable human development.

As CCIC celebrates its 50th year anniversary, establishes a new five-year strategic plan and enjoys an unprecedented level of support from its membership, the selected candidate will have the opportunity to lead the organization and the sector through the next exciting phase of its collective work.  The President-CEO will serve as a key public voice for the sector with government and the media on issues of global poverty, aid and international cooperation, the role of civil society globally, Canada’s role in the world, and the health of the sector.

With an operational budget of over $1.8M and a staff of 15 employees, the President-CEO will lead and oversee the development and implementation of the Council’s programs and activities.  The selected candidate will actively engage and involve member organizations in the work of the Council and facilitate and support cooperation and collaboration among member organizations.  The President-CEO will drive efforts to secure funding necessary to meet the Council’s goals and expand its program of activities.

The Council is looking for a highly dynamic and visionary President-CEO who has proven leadership and management abilities, is an effective communicator, and has a track record of being a consensus, team and coalition builder.  The selected candidate must possess strong interpersonal and networking skills to ensure success at building relationships with key stakeholders.  The abilities to be innovative and resourceful, seize opportunities, and understand the sector and its challenges are critical.
We are searching for a leader who is able to think strategically, articulate a vision for the sector, and inspire others to contribute to this vision.

The Council is headquartered in Ottawa.

World University Service of Canada (WUSC) will be assisting with the recruitment process.

Please find attached the job posting and click here to apply.



Title:   President-CEO
Location:   CCIC Secretariat, Ottawa
Reports to:   Board of Directors



INTRODUCTION

The Canadian Council for International Co-operation (CCIC) is a coalition of Canadian voluntary sector organizations working globally to achieve sustainable human development.  CCIC seeks to end global poverty and to promote social justice and human dignity for all.

 

POSITION SUMMARY

The Canadian Council for International Co-operation (the Council) is looking for a new President-CEO to lead Canada’s preeminent coalition of voluntary organizations working globally to end poverty, promote social justice, and achieve sustainable human development.

As CCIC celebrates its 50th year anniversary, establishes a new five-year strategic plan and enjoys an unprecedented level of support from its membership, the selected candidate will have the opportunity to lead the organization and the sector through the next exciting phase of its collective work.  You will serve as a key public voice for the sector with government and the media on issues of global poverty, aid and international cooperation, the role of civil society globally, Canada’s role in the world, and the health of the sector.

With an operational budget of over $1.8M and a staff of 15 employees, you will lead and oversee the development and implementation of the Council’s programs and activities.  You will actively engage and involve member organizations in the work of the Council and facilitate and support cooperation and collaboration among member organizations.  You will drive efforts to secure the funding necessary to meet the Council’s goals and expand its program of activities.

The Council is looking for a highly dynamic and visionary President-CEO who has proven leadership and management abilities, is an effective communicator, and has a track record of being a consensus, team and coalition builder.  Strong interpersonal and networking skills will contribute to your success at building relationships with key stakeholders.  The abilities to be innovative and resourceful, seize opportunities and understand the sector and its challenges are critical.

We are searching for a leader who is able to think strategically, articulate a vision for the sector, and inspire others to contribute to this vision.

The President-CEO works in close partnership with the Board of Directors to establish strategic directions and organizational policies.  The President-CEO has overall responsibility and accountability for the effective management of CCIC and the fulfilment of its mission, strategic directions and objectives. The President-CEO is responsible for maintaining positive relationships with members, government officials, and other stakeholders, and acts as a principal spokesperson for the Council.

The Council is headquartered in Ottawa.

Key Areas of Responsibility

  • Oversee the planning, implementation and evaluation of the Council’s programs, ensuring that the programs and services offered by the Council contribute effectively to the achievement of its mission, strategic directions and objectives, and reflect the priorities of the board and membership.
  • Conduct analyses of the Canadian and global environment in which the Council and its members operate, identifying key issues and challenges facing the Council and the international co-operation and voluntary sectors in Canada and globally, and working with members and staff to develop strategies for addressing these challenges and position the Council as a key resource to the sector.
  • Develop, lead and motivate a team of staff and volunteers, and oversee human resources management functions, including the development and implementation of human resource policies, procedures and practices and maintaining a good relationship with the Union.
  • Secure sufficient funding to achieve the Council’s strategic directions and objectives, and oversee the financial affairs of the Council, including the development and management of an annual budget. Such resource acquisition will include fundraising.
  • Cultivate and maintain effective relationships and communications with member organizations, funders and donors, peer organizations, government officials, and political representatives/ministers and their staff.
  • Anticipate when key issues arise that impact a critical mass of member agencies, and convene the necessary ad hoc committees and working groups, while brokering different approaches and policy views of the membership.
  • Oversee the development and implementation of effective communications, public and media relations strategies.
  • Act as chief staff spokesperson for the Council, representing the collective interests of the sector with the media, members, other national coalitions, the federal government and other key public institutions.
  • Represent the Canadian INGO civil society sector with other national and international like-minded entities.
  • Ensure that the Council is meeting its statutory responsibilities, effectively manages risk, operates with a high level of integrity, and abides by the Council’s Code of Ethics.
  • Provide advice and support to the Board of Directors, including supporting the development of a vision and strategic plan to guide the Council, supporting the development and interpretation of policy, and providing accurate, complete and timely information to the board, enabling it to discharge its obligations and meets its governance and legal responsibilities.

 

QUALIFICATIONS

The Council requires an individual that has the following knowledge, experience, skills and abilities, and has a passion for issues of global poverty, social justice, human rights, and the role of civil society globally.

Knowledge & Experience:

  • At least 10 years of relevant work experience in progressively senior roles, preferably in the not-for-profit sector.
  • At least three to five years of proven experience and effectiveness in a senior leadership role.
  • A successful record of accomplishment as a consensus, team and coalition builder with a wide range of stakeholders and member-based organizations.
  • A demonstrated understanding of the Canadian international development and humanitarian cooperation sector that is working to end global poverty, promote social justice, and achieve sustainable development.
  • An understanding of the diversity of the above sector in size and approaches.
  • A successful record of accomplishment in navigating high-level government relations.
  • Demonstrated management and leadership skills.
  • Successful evidence in securing funding from different sources and developing relationships with donors.
  • Knowledge and experience in financial management and budgeting.
  • Proven experience working in governance and working with Boards of Directors.
  • Experience working with Membership organizations.
  • Experience working in a unionized environment would be an asset.

Skills & Abilities:

  • Ability to imagine and articulate a vision for the sector and inspire others around this vision.
  • A strategic and innovative thinker who sees and seizes opportunities.
  • Strong relationship building, partnership and networking skills.
  • Ability to broker and facilitate constructive dialogue amongst diverse parties and stakeholders.
  • Ability to motivate, support, coach and mentor a dynamic team of committed professionals.
  • An experienced and effective communicator with strong public speaking capacity with diverse audiences.
  • Highly developed analytical skills.
  • Fluent bilingualism (English and French) is a requirement for the role; other languages would be considered an asset.

The President-CEO must be available to travel in Canada and internationally.






Notice to Candidates 
Please mention that you saw the ad on the CCIC web site

TOP
 
  • FLASH
  • Employment
  • 10-point agenda
  • Istanbul Principles
  • Code of Ethics
  • Become a Member
  • MEMBERS SPACE
  • CCIC Publications
  • Employment

CCCI - CCIC
ACCUEIL RECHERCHE PLAN DU SITE CONTACT ENGLISH

Resources

Find out more. Do more. Stay connected.

About us What we do Working Groups Media RESSOURCES Members
Publications
Archives


IMPRIMER

 

Président-e et chef de la direction

CCIC

Le Conseil canadien pour la coopération internationale (le Conseil) est à la recherche d'un nouveau président et chef de la direction ou d’une nouvelle présidente et chef de la direction pour diriger la prestigieuse coalition d'organismes volontaires du Canada qui œuvrent partout dans le monde pour éradiquer la pauvreté, promouvoir la justice sociale et réaliser un développement humain durable.

Alors que le CCCI célèbre son 50e anniversaire, dresse un nouveau plan stratégique quinquennal et bénéficie d'un soutien sans précédent de la part de ses membres, la personne candidate choisie aura l'occasion de diriger l'organisme et le secteur durant la prochaine phase passionnante de son travail collectif. Elle sera un porte-parole clé du secteur auprès des gouvernements et des médias sur la pauvreté mondiale, l'aide et la coopération internationale, le rôle de la société civile à l'échelle mondiale, le rôle du Canada dans le monde et la santé du secteur. Avec un budget opérationnel de plus de 1,8 M$ et un effectif de 15 employés, elle dirigera et supervisera l'élaboration et la mise en œuvre des programmes et des activités du Conseil. La personne candidate choisie engagera et impliquera activement les organismes membres dans les travaux du Conseil et facilitera et appuiera la coopération et la collaboration entre les organismes membres. Elle s'efforcera d'obtenir le financement nécessaire pour atteindre les objectifs du Conseil et élargir son programme d'activités.

Le Conseil est à la recherche d'un président ou d’une présidente et chef de la direction très dynamique et visionnaire qui possède des aptitudes éprouvées en leadership et en gestion, qui est une communicatrice ou un communicateur efficace et qui a fait ses preuves en tant que bâtisseur de consensus, d'équipe et de coalition. La personne candidate choisie doit posséder de solides compétences interpersonnelles et en matière de réseautage pour réussir à établir des relations avec les intervenants clés. Il est essentiel qu’elle soit capable d'innover et de faire preuve d’ingéniosité, de saisir les occasions et de comprendre le secteur et ses défis.

Nous sommes à la recherche d'une ou d’un leader capable de penser stratégiquement, d’énoncer une vision pour le secteur et d'inciter les autres à contribuer à cette vision.

Le siège social du Conseil est à Ottawa.

L'Entraide universitaire mondiale du Canada (EUMC) participera au processus de recrutement.

Veuillez trouver ci-joint l'offre d'emploi et cliquez ici pour postuler.






Titre :   Président-e et chef de la direction, CCCI
Lieu :   Secrétariat du CCCI, Ottawa
Supérieur(e) :   Conseil d’administration du CCCI


INTRODUCTION

Le Conseil canadien pour la coopération internationale (CCCI) est une coalition d'organismes canadiens du secteur volontaire œuvrant à l'échelle mondiale pour réaliser un développement humain durable. Le CCCI cherche à éradiquer la pauvreté dans le monde et à promouvoir la justice sociale et la dignité humaine pour tous.

 

RÉSUMÉ DU POSTE

Le Conseil canadien pour la coopération internationale (le Conseil) est à la recherche d'un nouveau président et chef de la direction ou d’une nouvelle présidente et chef de la direction pour diriger la prestigieuse coalition d'organismes volontaires du Canada qui œuvrent partout dans le monde pour éradiquer la pauvreté, promouvoir la justice sociale et réaliser un développement humain durable.

Alors que le CCCI célèbre son 50e anniversaire, dresse un nouveau plan stratégique quinquennal et bénéficie d'un soutien sans précédent de la part de ses membres, la personne candidate choisie aura l'occasion de diriger l'organisme et le secteur durant la prochaine phase passionnante de son travail collectif. Vous serez un porte-parole clé du secteur auprès des gouvernements et des médias sur la pauvreté mondiale, l'aide et la coopération internationale, le rôle de la société civile à l'échelle mondiale, le rôle du Canada dans le monde et la santé du secteur.

Avec un budget opérationnel de plus de 1,8 M$ et un effectif de 15 employés, vous dirigerez et superviserez l'élaboration et la mise en œuvre des programmes et des activités du Conseil. Vous engagerez et impliquerez activement les organismes membres dans les travaux du Conseil et faciliterez et appuierez la coopération et la collaboration entre les organismes membres. Vous vous efforcerez d'obtenir le financement nécessaire pour atteindre les objectifs du Conseil et élargir son programme d'activités.

Le Conseil est à la recherche d'un président ou d’une présidente et chef de la direction très dynamique et visionnaire qui possède des aptitudes éprouvées en leadership et en gestion, qui est une communicatrice ou un communicateur efficace et qui a fait ses preuves en tant que bâtisseur de consensus, d'équipe et de coalition. De solides compétences interpersonnelles et en matière de réseautage vous permettront de réussir à établir des relations avec les intervenants clés. Il sera essentiel de pouvoir innover et de faire preuve d’ingéniosité, de saisir les occasions et de comprendre le secteur et ses défis.

Nous sommes à la recherche d'une ou d’un leader capable de penser stratégiquement, d’énoncer une vision pour le secteur et d'inciter les autres à contribuer à cette vision.


Le président ou la présidente et chef de la direction travaille en étroite collaboration avec le conseil d'administration pour établir les orientations stratégiques et les politiques organisationnelles. Il-elle assume la responsabilité et l’imputabilité globales de la gestion efficace du CCCI et de la réalisation de sa mission, de ses orientations stratégiques et de ses objectifs. Il-elle est responsable du maintien de relations positives avec les membres, les représentants gouvernementaux et les autres intervenants, et agit à titre de principal porte-parole du Conseil.


Le siège social du CCCI se trouve à Ottawa.



Principaux domaines de responsabilité


  • Superviser la planification, la mise en œuvre et l'évaluation des programmes du Conseil, veiller à ce que les programmes et les services offerts par le Conseil contribuent efficacement à la réalisation de sa mission, de ses orientations stratégiques et de ses objectifs et reflètent les priorités du conseil d’administration et des membres.
  • Effectuer des analyses de l'environnement canadien et mondial dans lequel œuvrent le Conseil et ses membres, en identifiant les principaux enjeux et défis auxquels font face le Conseil et les secteurs de la coopération internationale et du volontariat au Canada et ailleurs dans le monde et en travaillant avec les membres et le personnel pour élaborer des stratégies en vue de relever ces défis et de positionner le Conseil comme une ressource-clé pour le secteur.
  • Perfectionner, diriger et motiver une équipe d’employés et de volontaires et superviser les fonctions de gestion des ressources humaines, notamment l'élaboration et la mise en œuvre des politiques, procédures et pratiques en matière de ressources humaines et le maintien de bonnes relations avec le syndicat.
  • Obtenir un financement suffisant pour atteindre les orientations stratégiques et les objectifs du Conseil et superviser les affaires financières du Conseil, notamment l'élaboration et la gestion d'un budget annuel. Cette acquisition de ressources inclura des collectes de fonds.
  • Cultiver et entretenir des relations et des communications efficaces avec les organismes membres, les bailleurs de fonds et les donateurs, les organismes homologues, les représentants gouvernementaux et les représentants/ministres politiques et leur personnel.
  • Anticiper l’arrivée de problèmes clés affectant une masse critique d'organismes membres et convoquer les comités spéciaux et les groupes de travail nécessaires, tout en négociant différentes approches et les opinions politiques des membres.
  • Superviser le développement et la mise en œuvre de stratégies efficaces de communications, de relations publiques et de relations avec les médias.
  • Agir en tant que principal porte-parole du personnel pour le Conseil, représentant les intérêts collectifs du secteur auprès des médias, des membres, d'autres coalitions nationales, du gouvernement fédéral et d'autres institutions publiques clés.

    • Représenter le secteur canadien des OING de la société civile auprès d'autres entités nationales et internationales partageant les mêmes idées.
    • Veiller à ce que le Conseil s'acquitte de ses responsabilités statutaires, gère efficacement les risques, fonctionne avec un haut niveau d'intégrité et respecte le Code de déontologie du Conseil.
    • Fournir des conseils et un soutien au conseil d'administration, notamment en appuyant l'élaboration d'une vision et d'un plan stratégique pour guider le Conseil, en appuyant l'élaboration et l'interprétation des politiques et en fournissant des renseignements exacts, complets et opportuns au conseil d’administration, lui permettant ainsi de s’acquitter de ses obligations et de respecter ses responsabilités légales et de gouvernance.




      QUALIFICATIONS

      Le Conseil a besoin d'une personne qui possède les connaissances, l'expérience, les compétences et les capacités suivantes et qui est passionnée par les enjeux de la pauvreté mondiale, de la justice sociale, des droits de la personne et du rôle de la société civile dans le monde.



      Connaissances et expérience

    • Au moins 10 années d'expérience professionnelle pertinente dans des postes de plus en plus importants, de préférence dans le secteur sans but lucratif.
    • Au moins trois à cinq années d'expérience et d'efficacité éprouvées dans un rôle de cadre supérieur.
    • Des antécédents fructueux comme bâtisseur de consensus, d'équipe et de coalition auprès d’un large éventail d'intervenants et d'organismes composés de membres.
    • Une compréhension avérée du secteur canadien du développement international et de la coopération humanitaire qui s’efforce d’éradiquer la pauvreté dans le monde, de promouvoir la justice sociale et de réaliser un développement durable.
    • Une compréhension de la diversité de ce secteur en termes de taille et d'approches.
    • Des antécédents fructueux dans la gestion des relations gouvernementales de haut niveau.
    • Des compétences démontrées en gestion et en leadership.
    • Des preuves concluantes pour obtenir du financement de différentes sources et développer des relations avec les donateurs.
    • Une connaissance et une expérience en gestion financière et en budgétisation.
    • Une expérience confirmée en gouvernance et en collaboration avec des conseils d'administration.
    • Une expérience de travail avec des organismes membres.
    • Une expérience de travail dans un milieu syndiqué serait un atout.



      Compétences et aptitudes

    • Capacité d'imaginer et d'énoncer une vision pour le secteur et d’inciter les autres à contribuer à cette vision.
    • Pensée stratégique et innovante qui permet de voir et saisir les occasions.
    • Solides compétences en construction de relations, en partenariat et en réseautage.
    • Capacité de négocier et de faciliter un dialogue constructif entre diverses parties et divers interlocuteurs.
    • Aptitude à motiver, appuyer, encadrer et mentorer une équipe dynamique de professionnels engagés.
    • Communicatrice ou communicateur expérimenté et efficace ayant une forte capacité de parler en public devant divers auditoires.
    • Compétences analytiques très développées.
    • Le bilinguisme courant (anglais et français) est requis pour le poste; d'autres langues seraient considérées comme un atout.

  • Le président ou la présidente et chef de la direction doit être disponible pour voyager au Canada et à l'étranger.




    Notice to Candidates 
    Please mention that you saw the ad on the CCIC web site

    TOP
     
    • FLASH
    • Employment
    • 10-point agenda
    • Istanbul Principles
    • Code of Ethics
    • Become a Member
    • MEMBERS SPACE
    • CCIC Publications
    • Employment