CCIC monthly e-bulletin: September 2012                                                            About CCIC     |     Contact Us
banner image

MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT-CEO

Taking the policy discussions to the public: Reflections on CCIC-CASID conference on the post-2015 framework

Civil society’s very crucial role in policy dialogue is being downplayed and de-prioritized of late, by our donors, supporters and ourselves. And apparently academics feel a degree of frustration that their research inputs for policy discussions are not met with the same receptivity as in the past. But a vibrant civil society that contributes energetically to policy dialogue is essential for a healthy democracy and good policy. So we must find new ways, despite the limitations in our context, to continue our engagement in key policy issues of our times. And the post-2015 development framework promises to be one such key policy issue – for the new framework will no doubt have a strong influence on the focus and impact of our collective development efforts in the decades to come. One of the new ways clearly involves making new partnerships and alliances for policy work.


The CCIC team has been hard at work this month organizing a joint conference with CASID (Canadian Association for Studies in International Development) - and with special participation from our friends at SIDGS (School of International Development and Globalization Studies) at the University of Ottawa - on the post-2015 development framework, and more specifically, how we as Canadian international development groups and academics can best engage with this very important global agenda. With few exceptions, Canadians have been missing in action on this policy front to date, and especially if we compare with the vibrant engagement that Canadian CSOs and others have demonstrated in the past over similar key global issues. This is no doubt in part due to our reduced policy capacities, which are being squeezed given the thrust of the current funding environment for CSOs in Canada. But at CCIC and CASID we are convinced that Canada has something valuable and unique to offer to this global process, so we set out to design a conference to explore this further. 


Throughout the post-2015 two-day conference we explored how development practitioners, academics,think tanks, and government officials can collaborate to shape a Canadian response to the next framework for development cooperation. We had amongst us representatives of most of the major global initiatives that have tackled this process upfront (UN, Millennium Campaign, Beyond 2015, reflection group, GCAP, etc.) to help us understand what is already being done and what value-added contribution we can bring to the table. With our conference room at capacity, participants set out to work dissecting the causes and impacts of the MDGs’ successes and failures, and describing a path forward. This is what we mean when we talk about engaging in policy, presenting ideas that are informed by the extensive field work that many of our members do as implementing agencies for development projects. 


I look forward to sharing the results of the conference with all our members in the coming weeks, and also furthering our discussions on how we can support the sector to continue its engagement with this issue, and others to come.  The CCIC-CASID post-2015 conference is living proof that our sector is alert and active, and still adept at churning out significant contributions to policy dialogue.


In solidarity,
Julia

Séparateur

NEW DEVELOPMENTS IN THE SECTOR

Istanbul Principles Update – From Principles to ActionIP Icons

It has been a busy month for the Istanbul Principles. During the CIVICUS World Assembly, the Ontario Council for International Cooperation (OCIC), in collaboration with CCIC and the Open Forum for CSO Development Effectiveness, launched a set of visual icons (above) which illustrate the eight Istanbul Principles for CSO Development Effectiveness. In October, they will be made available for everyone to use as an open source tool in a range of sizes, formats and languages. September also saw a number of CCIC and Provincial and Regional Council members test-piloting a new practitioners guide developed by the Open Forum. The aim of this new resource is to train CSO practitioners to transmit the concepts and collective experience behind the International Framework and the accompanying Toolkits into conceptual and planning steps on the path to improving their effectiveness. The guide is being test-piloted in five regions around the world before the Open Forum comes out with the definitive version.

Séparateur

Gearing up for Post-2015

Everyone is talking post-2015 these days and what might replace the Millennium Development Goals (MDGs). At the CIVICUS World Assembly, Beyond 2015, GCAP and CIVICUS hosted a one day conference (and a series of subsequent meetings) to strategize among civil society as the UN gears up discussions on what a post-2015 framework might look like. The meetings culminated in the release of the Montreal Declaration and Plan of Action on the Post-2015 Agenda. CCIC also hosted a two day conference with the Canadian Association for the Study of International Development at the University of Ottawa on Thinking outside the MDG Box. And the UN’s High-level Panel (HLP) of Eminent Persons on the post-2015 UN Development framework held its first meeting on 25 September at the UN Headquarters in New York. Beyond 2015 has analyzed its set-up and priorities.

dividing line

Hundreds of civil society representatives join forces at CIVICUS World Assembly

The CIVICUS World Assembly was held for a third and last time in Montréal from September 3-7. Brought together under the theme Together for a just world: Defining a new social contract – making the future together, 650 participants from across the world were involved in workshops, plenary and side events. CCIC staff and members were present and actively engaged in the discussions. A short summary report containing 15 key commitments for further civil society action towards a new social contract has been published, and the full report on the World Assembly will be available in October. Meanwhile, reports on the different activities are available on the conference site, as well as resource documents, blogs, videos of all plenary sessions and insightful interviews with speakers and  a photo gallery.

dividing line

Engagement opportunity for members: New Ethics Task Force launched

In a workshop at the CCIC 2012 AGM, an Ethics Task Force began taking shape for providing member input and guidance into the process of reviewing the compliance mechanism for the CCIC Code of Ethics and re-visioning where next with the Code. CCIC is undertaking a research and consultation project which will start with a member survey regarding capacity and motivation for compliance with the Code, and an analysis of compliance mechanisms for codes of conduct for various national platforms around the world as well as alternative mechanisms for ensuring accountability and excellence in practice for the sector. These activities will lead to a members’ consultation event in the winter of 2013, and a a new direction for the Code to be discussed at the 2013 AGM and eventually approved by the CCIC Board of Directors. If you would like to be involved in this process as a member of the Ethics Task Force, please contact Jack Litster for more information.

dividing line

MEMBER PROFILE: PLAN CANADA

Rosemary McCarney
Rosemary McCarney with children at Al Salan Camp in Al Fasher, Darfur

This month CCIC spoke with Rosemary McCarney, President-CEO of Plan Canada. In this interview, Rosemary talks about the upcoming UN Day of the Girl (October 11), and the humanitarian crisis in the Sahel. She also comments on how Plan has adapted to changing realities over its 75 year history and on partnerships with the private sector.

Read the full interview...

dividing line

CCIC MEMBERS IN ACTION

Upcoming fall campaigns from RESULTS Canada and AQOCI

In the 2012 Federal Budget, the Government announced a 9% cut to the Canadian International Development Agency over three years. RESULTS Canada believes these cuts are not consistent with Canadian values around our global obligations and threaten progress made in key areas of development, as programs to reduce poverty and increase health and livelihoods are being shrunk or cut entirely. The organization is planning a “Reverse the Cuts” Campaign, which will mobilize individuals and organizations, to tell the Government that these cuts are not acceptable and to ask that funding be restored. More information will be available soon on RESULTS Canada’s website.

L’Association québécoise de coopération internationale (AQOCI) is also planning a campaign for November, as part of the Journées québécoises de la solidarité internationale (JQSI), from November 7-17, 2012. This year’s theme for the JQSI focuses on “a fair economy, centered on people”. In a context of multiple crises (on the economic, ecological, social and food security fronts) and of growing discontent within the social movements, JQSI will offer opportunities to reflect and to act on the role of the economy, through the lens of human rights and democratic principles. A special campaign called “Faisons les comptes” will provide opportunities for citizens to ask stakeholders in international development to be held accountable for their choices. More info will be available on the JQSI site in the coming weeks.

dividing line

Event highlights the need for action on human rights of indigenous peoples in Colombia

On September 13, Amnesty International Canada, the Assembly of First Nations, and the National Indigenous Organization of Colombia (ONIC) hosted a special reception in honour of the 5th anniversary of the United Nations Declaration on the Human Rights of Indigenous Peoples. Representatives from various organizations acknowledged those who have fought for the recognition of indigenous rights. Luis Evelis Andrade Casama of the ONIC highlighted the urgent need for better implementation of the UN Declaration in Colombia, where at least a third of the 102 Indigenous nations are at risk of total extinction due to the ongoing armed conflict and forced displacement from their resource-rich territories. The evening highlighted the UN declaration’s role in raising the bar and setting a new standard for indigenous rights, but also the many challenges still facing its adequate implementation. CCIC’s Americas Policy Group works on issues related to the rights of indigenous people in Colombia, especially in the context of Canadian investment and resource extraction.

 

dividing line

World Federalist Movement–Canada weighs in on Canada’s peacekeeping presence

This summer, World Federalist Movement–Canada published a fact sheet that analyzes the diminishing role that Canada is playing in United Nations Peacekeeping missions in recent years. The fact sheet points to the emergence of new Asian and African countries as the major troop contributors to UN Peacekeeping missions, and argues that as “a middle power with no significant external threat to its borders, Canada should be primarily interested in a strengthened multilateral system.”

 

dividing line

WORTH A LOOK

Analytical tools and commentary from the North-South Institute

The North-South Institute has launched a series of blogs and online dashboards called International Development in a Changing World. This series looks at global events and policy frameworks such as the Rio+20 Conference, G20 meetings, the post-Busan aid architecture and the post-2015 global development goals.

dividing line

Carleton University launches Philanthropy and Nonprofit Leadership program

This month, Carleton University’s School of Public Policy and Administration launched a Master of Philanthropy and Nonprofit Leadership degree, which will offer summer institute courses and online courses in the fall and winter semesters, and will begin in June 2013.

dividing line

New on CCIC’s Members' Space

If you don’t have your password to log into the CCIC’s members space, please contact Chantal Havard.

 

dividing line

If you have an item for Flash, send it by e-mail to Jack Litster. Please note that Flash items should be no longer than one paragraph.

Bulletin électronique du CCCI: septembre 2012                                             À propos     |     Contactez-nous
banner image


MESSAGE DE LA PRÉSIDENTE-DIRECTRICE GÉNÉRALE

Faire connaître les enjeux politiques au public : réflexions sur la conférence du CCCI et de l’ACÉDI sur le cadre de développement d’après 2015

Ces derniers temps, nos donateurs, nos sympathisants et nous-mêmes avons tendance à minimiser le rôle crucial de la société civile dans les débats de fond. Par ailleurs, il semble que les chercheurs universitaires ressentent une certaine frustration du fait que leurs contributions aux dossiers politiques ne sont plus accueillies avec autant de ferveur. Pourtant, la santé de la démocratie et la qualité des politiques élaborées dépendent beaucoup du dynamisme de la société civile, qui contribue énergiquement à ces débats. C’est pourquoi, en dépit de nos contraintes actuelles, nous devons trouver des nouveaux moyens de participer aux discussions sur les grands enjeux politiques de notre époque. Justement, le cadre de développement d’après 2015 s’annonce être un de ces grands enjeux : il ne fait aucun doute qu’il aura une influence considérable sur l’orientation et les répercussions de nos efforts collectifs de développement dans les décennies à venir. Pour apporter notre eau au moulin, nous n’aurons d’autre choix que d’établir de nouveaux partenariats et de nouvelles alliances.


L’équipe du CCCI a travaillé d’arrache-pied ce mois-ci pour organiser, de concert avec l’ACÉDI (L'association canadienne d'études du développement international) et avec la participation spéciale de nos amis de l’École de développement international et mondialisation de l’Université d’Ottawa, une conférence de deux jours centrée sur le cadre de développement d’après 2015, et plus précisément sur l’approche que devraient adopter les groupes et les chercheurs canadiens intéressés au développement international face à celui-ci. À quelques exceptions près, les Canadiens manquent à l’appel sur ce front, ce qui contraste avec l’engagement net qu’ont démontré par le passé les OSC canadiennes et d’autres groupes par rapport à des enjeux mondiaux d’importance comparable. Ce silence découle évidemment en partie de la réduction de nos capacités en matière de politiques dans le contexte actuel de financement des OSC au Canada. Néanmoins, au CCCI et à l’ACÉDI, nous sommes convaincus que le Canada a une contribution valable et unique à apporter à ce processus mondial; nous avons donc organisé une conférence dans le but de mieux définir le rôle que nous devons jouer.


Dans le cadre de la conférence, nous avons exploré les possibilités de collaboration qui s’offraient aux praticiens, aux chercheurs, aux groupes de réflexion et aux fonctionnaires désireux de définir une réponse canadienne au prochain cadre de développement. Des représentants de la plupart des grandes initiatives mondiales qui se sont déjà attelées à la tâche (ONU, Campagne du Millénaire, Beyond 2015, Reflection Group, GCAP, etc.) sont venus nous présenter le travail accompli et discuter de la contribution particulière que nous pourrions apporter. Dans une salle de conférence bondée, les participants se sont employés à disséquer les causes et les répercussions des réussites et des échecs des OMD, avant de dessiner une feuille de route. Voilà ce que nous entendons par participer aux débats de fond : il s’agit de présenter des idées nourries par le vaste travail de terrain effectué par plusieurs de nos membres au sein d’organisations vouées à l’implantation de projets de développement.


J’ai bien hâte de partager les résultats de la conférence avec tous nos membres dans les semaines qui viennent et de continuer la discussion sur les moyens d’aider le secteur à se mobiliser par rapport à cet enjeu et à ceux qui viendront. La conférence du CCCI et de l’ACÉDI sur le cadre de développement d’après 2015 est bien la preuve que notre secteur est alerte et actif, et toujours capable d’apporter une contribution pertinente aux débats sur les politiques.

Solidairement,

Julia

Séparateur

DERNIÈRES NOUVELLES DU SECTEUR

Le point sur les Principes d’Istanbul : des principes à l’action

IP Icons

Ce fut un mois chargé pour ceux qui s’intéressent aux Principes d’Istanbul. Pendant l’Assemblée mondiale de CIVICUS, le Conseil ontarien pour la coopération internationale (OCIC), en collaboration avec le CCCI et le Forum sur l’efficacité des OSC en matière de développement, a lancé une série d’icônes qui illustrent les huit Principes d’Istanbul sur l’efficacité du développement des OSC. En octobre, ces icônes seront offertes gratuitement à quiconque veut les télécharger dans toute une gamme de tailles, de formats et de langues. Pendant le mois de septembre, un certain nombre de membres provinciaux et régionaux du CCCI ont mis à l’essai un nouveau Guide du praticien créé par le Forum ouvert. Cette nouvelle ressource permettra aux praticiens des OSC de traduire plus facilement les concepts et l’expérience collective du Cadre international et des guides d’accompagnement en étapes concrètes de conception et de planification, de manière à améliorer leur efficacité. Ce nouveau guide est actuellement mis à l’essai dans cinq régions du monde, après quoi le Forum ouvert élaborera une version définitive.

Séparateur

Préparation de l’après 2015

L’après 2015 est sur toutes les lèvres ces jours-ci, et chacun se demande ce qui remplacera les objectifs du Millénaire pour le développement (OMD). À l’Assemblée mondiale de CIVICUS, Beyond 2015, GCAP et CIVICUS ont organisé une conférence d’un jour – et une série de réunions de suivi – destinée à établir une stratégie parmi les OSC au moment où l’ONU prépare les discussions sur un cadre pour l’après 2015. Les réunions ont mené à la publication de la Déclaration et Plan d’action de Montréal sur l’après 2015. Pour sa part, le CCCI s’est associé à L’association canadienne d’études du développement international pour organiser une conférence de deux jours à l’Université d’Ottawa intitulée « Penser autrement les OMD ». Quant au Groupe de haut niveau de personnalités éminentes de l’ONU sur le cadre de développement après 2015, il a tenu sa première réunion le 25 septembre dernier au siège des Nations Unies, à New York. Beyond 2015 a déjà analysé sa composition et ses priorités.

dividing line

Des centaines de représentants de la société civile unissent leurs forces à l’Assemblée mondiale de CIVICUS

La troisième (et dernière) Assemblée mondiale de CIVICUS s’est déroulée à Montréal du 3 au 7 septembre. Rassemblés sous le thème Agir ensemble pour un monde juste : Définir un nouveau contrat social – Construire l’avenir ensemble, 650 participants venus du monde entier ont participé à des ateliers, des assemblées plénières et d’autres événements. Le personnel et les membres du CCCI étaient sur place et ont contribué activement aux discussions. Un rapport sommaire présentant 15 grands engagements qui devraient orienter les futures actions de la société civile en vue d’un nouveau contrat social a déjà été publié; quant au rapport intégral sur l’Assemblée mondiale, il sera publié au mois d’octobre. Dans l’intervalle, vous trouverez sur le site de l’Assemblée des rapports sur les différentes activités, des documents de référence, des blogues, des vidéos de toutes les séances plénières et des entrevues avec les conférenciers, ainsi qu’une galerie de photos.

dividing line

Occasion d’implication pour les membres : nouveau Groupe de travail sur l’éthique

Le Groupe de travail sur l’éthique a commencé à prendre forme à la suite d’un atelier tenu dans le cadre de l’AGA 2012 du CCCI. Il a pour vocation d’intégrer l’opinion et les directions des membres en lien avec le processus d’examen et de révision du mécanisme de conformité du Code d’éthique du CCCI, et d’entrevoir ce qu’il adviendra de ce code. Le CCCI entreprend actuellement un projet de recherche et de consultation comprenant un sondage destiné aux membres, sur leur capacité de conformité et leur motivation, ainsi qu’une analyse des mécanismes de conformité présents dans les codes de conduite de diverses plateformes nationales à l’échelle mondiale et des mécanismes alternatifs pour assurer l’imputabilité et l’excellence dans les pratiques de notre secteur. Ces activités culmineront en un événement de consultation des membres à l’hiver 2013, et la présentation pour discussion d’une nouvelle direction à donner au Code à l’AGA 2013, éventuellement approuvée par le C.A du CCCI. Si vous souhaitez faire partie du Groupe de travail sur l’éthique, veuillez communiquer avec Jack Litster.

dividing line

PROFIL D'UN MEMBRE: PLAN CANADA

Rosemary McCarney
Rosemary McCarney avec des enfants, Camp Al Salan, Al Fasher, Darfour

Nous accueillons avec plaisir ce mois-ci Rosemary McCarney, présidente –directrice générale de Plan Canada. Dans cette entrevue, Rosemary nous parle de la Journée de la fille qui se tiendra bientôt (11 octobre) ainsi que de la crise humanitaire au Sahel. Elle discute également de la façon dont PLAN s’est adapté à des réalités changeantes tout au long de ses 75 ans d’histoire et des partenariats avec le secteur privé.

Lire l'entrevue intégrale…

dividing line

 

LES MEMBRES DU CCCI EN ACTION

Campagnes d’automne de Résultats Canada et de l’AQOCI

Dans son budget de 2012, le gouvernement fédéral annonçait une diminution de 9 %, répartie sur trois ans, des subventions versées à l’Agence canadienne de développement international. Selon RÉSULTATS Canada, ces compressions vont à l’encontre des valeurs canadiennes en matière d’engagement international et menacent les progrès réalisés dans les principaux domaines du développement, puisque les programmes visant à lutter contre la pauvreté et à promouvoir la santé et la sécurité alimentaire se voient amputés, voire démantelés. L’organisation prévoit mener une campagne auprès des individus et des organismes pour dénoncer ces compressions et enjoindre au gouvernement de revenir sur sa décision. Vous trouverez sous peu de plus amples renseignements au sujet de cette campagne sur le site Web de RÉSULTATS Canada.

De son côté, l’Association québécoise de coopération internationale (AQOCI) prévoit une campagne en marge des Journées québécoises de la solidarité internationale (JQSI), qui se tiendront du 7 au 17 novembre 2012. Les JQSI de cette année se dérouleront sous le thème de l’« économie juste au service de l’humain ». Dans un contexte de crises multiples (économique, écologique, sociale, alimentaire) où les mouvements d’indignation populaire se font grandissants, les JQSI servent de lieu de réflexion et d’action pour « remettre l’économie à sa place », c’est-à-dire veiller à ce qu’elle ne bafoue pas les droits de la personne et les principes démocratiques. Dans le cadre d’une campagne spéciale appelée « Faisons les comptes », les citoyens pourront demander à des acteurs du développement international de répondre de leurs décisions. Pour en savoir plus, consultez le site des JQSI au cours des prochaines semaines.

dividing line

Une activité met en lumière le besoin de reconnaître les droits des peuples autochtones en Colombie

Le 13 septembre, Amnistie internationale Canada francophone, l’Assemblée des Premières Nations et l’Organisation nationale autochtone de Colombie (ONIC) ont tenu une réception spéciale soulignant le 5e anniversaire de la Déclaration des Nations Unies sur les droits des peuples autochtones. À cette occasion, des représentants de plusieurs organisations ont salué le travail des militants pour les droits des peuples autochtones. Luis Evelis Andrade Casama, de l’ONIC, a souligné qu’il fallait de toute urgence faire respecter la Déclaration des Nations Unies en Colombie, où au moins le tiers des 102 peuples autochtones risquent l’annihilation du fait que le conflit armé perdure et qu’ils sont forcés de quitter leurs territoires riches en ressources naturelles. Il a été fait mention pendant la soirée à quel point la Déclaration de l’ONU a été marquante pour élever la barre et créer de nouveaux standards pour les droits des autochtones, mais également des nombreux défis concernant sa mise en œuvre. Le Groupe d’orientation politique pour les Amériques du CCCI se penche actuellement sur le dossier colombien, surtout en ce qui a trait aux investissements du Canada et à l’extraction des ressources.

 

dividing line

Le Mouvement fédéraliste mondial (Canada) influence la participation du Canada aux opérations de maintien de la paix

Cet été, le Mouvement fédéraliste mondial (Canada), a publié une fiche de renseignements où l’on souligne que la participation du Canada aux opérations de maintien de la paix de l’ONU va diminuant depuis les dernières années. Cette fiche fait état de l’entrée en scène de pays d’Asie et d’Afrique en tant que fournisseurs de troupes. On précise en outre qu’« en tant que puissance moyenne exempte d’exposition à une menace extérieure majeure, le Canada devrait s’intéresser d’abord et avant tout au renforcement du système multilatéral ».

 

dividing line

VAUT LE COUP DE L'OEIL

Outils d’analyse et commentaires de l’Institut Nord-Sud

L’Institut Nord-Sud a lancé une série de blogues et de tableaux de bord en ligne : « International Development in a Changing World ». Cette série traite des événements mondiaux et des cadres stratégiques comme la conférence Rio+20, les rencontres du G20, l’architecture de l’aide à l’après-Busan et les objectifs de développement mondial pour l’ère post-2015.

dividing line

L’Université Carleton lance son programme de philanthropie et de leadership à but non lucratif

En septembre,  l’École d’administration et de politiques publiques de l’Université Carleton a lancé son programme de maîtrise en philanthropie et en leadership à but non lucratif, qui comprend des cours d’été de même que des cours à distance à l’automne et à l’hiver. Ce programme sera offert dès juin 2013.

dividing line

Nouveautés dans le Coin des membres du CCCI

Si vous n’avez pas de mot de passe pour entrer dans le Coin des membres, contacter Chantal Havard

 

dividing line

Pour faire publier un texte, prière de l’envoyer à Jack Litster. À noter que les articles destinés au Flash ne doivent pas avoir plus de 150 mots.