CCIC monthly e-bulletin: July-August 2012                                             About CCIC     |     Contact Us
banner image


Welcome to the new format for the Canadian Council for International Co-operation's Flash! e-bulletin. Our new design is completely housed on the CCIC website, and features all the sections that you have come to know (and love!) over the past six months, plus more graphics and a new section this month – CCIC Members in Action – to highlight some of the important work being done by CCIC’s many members.

MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT-CEO

Opportunity for a new chapter in CSO-CIDA relations?

 As I prepare to embark on year two of my mandate at CCIC, charting a new course for the organization and its members, the arrival of the new Minister for International Cooperation, Julian Fantino, presents us with an opportunity to turn the page while establishing a renewed relationship with CIDA.

The relationship between CSOs and CIDA has gone through many ups and downs in the past 40 plus years. This rapport has traditionally been marked by a high degree of mutual respect and of two-way collaboration - a sense of being two sides of the same coin, the “Canadian international development coin”. On the global stage, Canada has historically punched above its weight, and this has been in great part due to the convergence of Canadian government and civil society views around key issues and values - such as respect for human rights and women’s rights in particular, peace building, CSOs as important development actors, and the environment, to name a few.

Some important initiatives that fall within this vein were put forth under Minister Oda’s leadership – the Maternal Newborn and Child Health Initiative, a strong and sustained focus on food security and agriculture, and a final push on transparency. And many of you have rightfully pointed to these achievements when looking back at the Oda years.

And this on the heels of what can be considered an all time high in CIDA-CSO alignment on the aid effectiveness file – the important leadership provided by CIDA, under Minister Josée Verner, to the global CSO agenda which set the stage for the gains in Accra and then Busan (reaffirming civil society as a development actor in its own right, and ensuring an enabling environment for CSOs).  However, over the last few years that convergence gradually fell apart. During Minister Oda’s tenure, overall the civil society sector experienced an all time low in its relationship with CIDA. 

With few notable exceptions, the crucial role that CSOs play in policy dialogue and advocacy has been ignored. CIDA has, for all intents and purposes, stopped consulting CSOs in a systematic or meaningful way. CSOs are increasingly seen as strictly implementing agencies for CIDA programs. Even the important contributions that Canadian CSOs make to sustainable development by nurturing long-term partnerships with civil society groups in developing countries and by promoting public education in Canada have been de-prioritized. CIDA funding for CSOs is in decline, and the new funding modalities introduced by CIDA are generally counterproductive: they lack transparency, have been slow to roll out and have been plagued with implementation problems. Aid delivery today feels no more efficient nor effective. In fact, these new mechanisms have yet to address some key tenets of aid effectiveness, such as predictability, transparency and accountability. The negative impact on the work of Canadian CSOs in developing countries, on their partners and beneficiary communities, is massive. The blow to Canada’s reputation is immense.

Our focus at CCIC over the past year has been to regroup and refocus. And though opportunities to be heard as a sector at CIDA have been limited, we have taken advantage of those that have come along and engaged as constructively as possible on behalf of a sector that has so much to contribute. As I start my second year at the head of CCIC, I see the need for the sector to increase the level of our collective engagement on policy issues, to contribute constructively, to propose proactively, and to formulate alternatives. We need to find new ways of enhancing our role as key interlocutors on international development issues - for the sake of our shared goal of ending global poverty and injustice. But we need, first and foremost, to be heard. I look forward to meeting Minister Fantino - I am convinced we will have a lot to talk about, as we move forward on scripting a new chapter for CSO-CIDA relations.

In solidarity,
Julia

Séparateur

NEW DEVELOPMENTS IN THE SECTOR

The final meeting of the Working Party on Aid Effectiveness

On July 1, the Global Partnership for Effective Development Cooperation (GPEDC) formally replaced the Working Party on Aid Effectiveness (WP-Eff) - the entity that led the High-Level Forum processes that produced the Paris Declaration, the Accra Agenda for Action and the Busan Partnership for Effective Development Cooperation. Following the conclusions of the Busan meeting, the Post-Busan Interim Group – a multi-stakeholder entity that included civil society at the table – met from January to June to give shape to some of the issues not addressed in Busan, namely the future global governance structure for development cooperation and the monitoring framework for the Busan commitments. These conclusions were presented at the final Working Party meeting at the end of June. CCIC was there tweeting and blogging about the final, somewhat dramatic, meeting, and strategizing with other members of BetterAid.

Séparateur

National consultation on the future CSO platform for development effectiveness

Just as the GPEDC has now succeeded the WP-Eff (see above), global civil society has also been thinking about how to orient our future work, what goals and objectives we hope to achieve between now and the next meeting of the GPEDC, and how our own governance structure should reflect the need to be “Global light and country heavy”. Following a series of meetings and discussions, BetterAid and OpenForum have produced a proposal in terms of “how, what, where, when and why”. This proposal was up for global consultation, including in North America, in June and July. CCIC was tasked with canvassing Canadian perspectives on the form and function of a future CSO platform that will see BetterAid and the Open Forum merge into one entity. CCIC has been nominated to represent North America in any future structure. A full report of the national consultation is available online.

dividing line

CCIC members build new communications task force to redefine the sector’s narrative

Over 15 CCIC member organizations have climbed aboard the newly formed CCIC Communications Task Force, which held its first meeting in July. In a context of shifting relationships between established and emerging development actors and the need to improve our sector’s communications to the Canadian public, this group was assembled with the express purpose of working to redefine our sector’s narrative. The group is also a space to share resources and best practices on communications issues. CCIC’s related concept paper, Redefining our Narrative: The Role of International Development CSOs in a Changing World, is available online in CCIC Members’ Space. To join the CCIC Communications Task Force, contact Chantal Havard. The group will be meeting again in September to agree on a workplan and members will be kept informed on a regular basis.

dividing line

CIDA announces additional funding for Afghanistan and the Sahel

Last month CIDA announced a contribution of an additional $227 million in development assistance to Afghanistan between 2014-2017, on top of the $300 million committed for use between 2011 and 2014. This contribution will be focused on girls’ education, human rights, humanitarian assistance, as well as maternal, newborn and child health. An additional $18 million in development assistance to combat the trade in narcotics will be given over three years, starting in 2015.

Earlier this month CIDA also announced the Sahel Crisis Matching Fund, matching Canadian donations made to registered Canadian charities that are responding to the humanitarian crisis in the Sahel region of Africa. Funds received until September 30, 2012 will be matched by CIDA. However, it is important to note that the matching funds will be administered separately by CIDA and will not necessarily go to the organizations that raise the matching funds with the Canadian public. We are hoping further clarity on how these funds will be allocated will soon be made public. So far, in 2012, CIDA has already provided $47.5 million in response to this crisis and will also be contributing $10 million to the World Food Program in support of relief efforts in the Sahel.

dividing line

If you have not heard enough about Rio+20…

Already two months have passed since the Rio+20 conference. To put the conference in context, The North-South Institute’s Kate Higgins has written a blog on Rio+20 in a Changing World. The Open Forum for CSO Development Effectiveness has also compiled a number of statements and reactions from civil society, and Agricultural Transition’s website has many case studies and research on food and agriculture issues related to Rio+20. The Rio+20 Outcome Agreement - The Future We Want, was criticized by CSO groups for its lack of concrete proposals, however some progress was made on specific issues. In July, speakers from CSOs in Mali and Brazil, as well as from the ETC Group, USC Canada, the United Church of Canada, and the Council of Canadians participated in a webinar co-hosted by CCIC and the Canadian Coalition on Climate Change and Development (C4D). The event assessed the wins and losses from Rio+20, and is available online as a webinar.

dividing line

High Level Panel on Post-2015 announced by UN Secretary-General

UN Secretary General Ban Ki-Moon has announced the co-Chairs and composition of the UN High Level Panel to help steer the global development agenda post-2015, when the Millennium Development Goals expire. President Susilo Bambang Yudhoyono of Indonesia, President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf of Liberia, and Prime Minister David Cameron of the United Kingdom will co-Chair the panel alongside 23 other representatives. Back in April Beyond 2015 – a global campaign working on the post-2015 agenda – submitted the names of five CSO representatives for the panel. Only one – Graca Machel of The Elders Group – was selected. While welcoming the panel and its diverse regional representation, Beyond 2015 expressed disappointment that it did not include more civil society voices, nor a seat to hear the voices of people living in poverty, nor their representative associations. CCIC is organizing an event on the post-2015 agenda in September and registration is open.

dividing line

MEMBER PROFILE

Since many of our members were on holidays in the past few weeks, it wasn’t possible to prepare a profile for this FLASH; but this section will be back in September!

dividing line

CCIC MEMBERS IN ACTION

UN Arms Trade Treaty talks end in failure, disappointed Control Arms coalition explains

July saw extensive negotiations at the UN to create an Arms Trade Treaty (ATT) to regulate international transfers of conventional weapons. The talks concluded without an agreement, as Project Ploughshares’ Kenneth Epps (co-chair of the steering board of the Control Arms coalition) explained in a recent Globe and Mail op-ed. CCIC members Amnesty International, Development and Peace, Oxfam Canada, Oxfam Quebec, and Project Ploughshares are among the nearly 100 members of the international Control Arms coalition.

dividing line

World Vision delves into the question of sustainable economic growth and mining operations

This past spring, World Vision held a workshop on sustainable economic growth and mining operations, attended by 27 individuals from the mining sector, federal government, academia and civil society. The workshop focused on the long-term opportunities and challenges associated with mining, as well as the role of local governments in providing for sustainable economic development.  A workshop report was produced and will be made available online soon. In the interim, if you require copies of the report, please contact World Vision’s Onome Ako or Terry Gray.

dividing line

WORTH A LOOK

charityfocusImagine Canada’s CharityFocus: Is your organization making the most of this important transparency tool?

Canada’s charitable sector represents $79.1 billion or 7.8% of our GDP, creating approximately 2 million jobs, and engaging some 12 million volunteers (these and other Charity Fast Facts are available on the CharityFocus homepage). With the goal of making information on our sector easily accessible, this year Imagine Canada created the CharityFocus website, an important tool for finding information on Canada’s 85,000+ registered charities. This website takes information provided to the Canada Revenue Agency and presents it in an accessible format, allowing for comparison between charities and for organizations to upload additional information. A profile has already been created for every NGO in Canada, so if you have not already done so, verify and supplement the information already available on your organization’s online profile.

dividing line

struggling for effectivenessNew book: Struggling for Effectiveness: CIDA and Canadian Foreign Aid

University of Ottawa professor and longtime CCIC collaborator Stephen Brown has edited a new book that is about to be released. This book makes a comprehensive examination of CIDA’s efforts, exploring such topics as gender, security, advocacy, public engagement, policy, Canadian politics, relations with NGOs, and more. CCIC’s Denis Cote is among the many contributing authors to this important book. This book is due out soon and can be pre-ordered online.

dividing line

CSOs on the Road from Accra to BusanNew report: CSOs on the Road from Accra to Busan

In June, BetterAid, in cooperation with the Open Forum for Development Effectiveness, launched a report written by Brian Tomlinson of AidWatch Canada. This report sets out a narrative of global civil society and the development effectiveness agenda over the past four years and addresses the question: are political leaders from all sectors ready and open to continue, deepen and implement the commitments and directions they set at the 2011 Busan High Level Forum?

 

dividing line

Fair Trade Diamond Mining Story

Journalist Erin Collins recently prepared a special report for CBC’s The National on artisanal diamond mining in Sierra Leone and the work of Ottawa-based NGO Diamond Development Initiative to set up a Fair Trade project as follow-up to the work done on the blood diamond campaign.

dividing line

If you have an item for Flash, send it by e-mail to Jack Litster. Please note that Flash items should be no longer than one paragraph.

Bulletin électronique du CCCI: juillet-août 2012                                             À propos     |     Contactez-nous
banner image


Voici la nouvelle formule du bulletin électronique Flash! du CCCI. Hébergée sur le site Web du CCCI, elle comprend toujours les sections que vous en êtes venus à connaître (et à aimer!) ces six derniers mois. En prime : plus d’éléments visuels et une nouvelle section intitulée « Membres du CCCI en action », laquelle donne une vitrine à des initiatives importantes menées par les nombreux membres du CCCI.

MESSAGE DE LA PRÉSIDENTE-DIRECTRICE GÉNÉRALE

La possibilité d’écrire un nouveau chapitre dans les relations entre les OSC et l’ACDI?

Alors que je m’apprête à entamer la deuxième année de mon mandat au CCCI, en définissant une nouvelle voie pour notre organisation et ses membres, l’arrivée du nouveau ministre de la Coopération internationale, Julian Fantino, me semble une bonne occasion de tourner la page et d’établir une nouvelle relation avec l’ACDI.

Bien que les relations entre les OSC et l’ACDI aient connu des hauts et des bas au fil de ces 40 et plus dernières années, les rapports étaient généralement caractérisés par beaucoup de respect mutuel et d’interdépendance, et par cette impression de représenter les deux facettes d’une même réalité : le développement canadien. Sur la scène internationale, le Canada a toujours réussi à jouer dans la cour des grands,ce qu’on doit en grande partie aux visions convergentes du gouvernement canadien et de la société civile sur des questions et des valeurs fondamentales, notamment le respect des droits de la personne –ceux de la femme en particulier –, la consolidation de la paix, les OSC en tant qu’acteurs importants du développement et l’environnement.

Quelques grandes initiatives en ce sens ont été lancées pendant le mandat de la ministre Oda : il suffit de penser à l’Initiative sur la santé des mères, des nouveau‑nés et des enfants, aux priorités durables données à la sécurité alimentaire et à l’agriculture et à la mise en place de mesures visant à améliorer la transparence. Plusieurs d’entre vous ont d’ailleurs souligné ces réalisations en commentant les années Oda.

Cela s’est passé juste après ce qui peut être considéré comme le point culminant de l’alignement ACDI-CSO sur le dossier de l’efficacité de l’aide : l’important leadership démontré par l’ACDI, sous la ministre Josée Verner, dans l’agenda mondial des OSC, qui a préparé le terrain pour les gains qui ont été faits à  Accra puis à Busan (reconnaissance du rôle de la société civile comme acteur de plein droit du développement et assurance d’un environnement facilitateur pour les OSC). Cependant, cette convergence s’est graduellement érodée au cours des dernières années. Sous le mandat de la ministre Oda, l’ensemble de la société civile a vu ses relations avec l’ACDI atteindre un creux historique.

À de rares exceptions près, le rôle capital que les OSC jouent dans le dialogue sur les politiques et le plaidoyer a été ignoré. En fait, l’ACDI a cessé de consulter les OSC de façon systématique ou significative. Les OSC sont de plus en plus considérées comme étant uniquement des agences d’exécution des programmes de l’ACDI. Même les contributions importantes au développement durable que font les OSC canadiennes qui entretiennent des partenariats de longue date avec des groupes de la société civile dans les pays en développement, et qui font la promotion de l’engagement du public au Canada, ont été reléguées au second plan. Le financement accordé par l’ACDI aux OSC est en déclin et les nouvelles modalités de financement introduites par l’ACDI vont généralement à l’encontre du but recherché : elles manquent de transparence, elles ont mis trop de temps à entrer en vigueur, et leur mise en œuvre a été caractérisée par de nombreux problèmes. Aujourd’hui, la prestation de l’aide ne semble pas avoir gagné en efficacité ni en compétence. Le problème vient du fait que ces nouveaux mécanismes ne sont pas encore alignés sur certains des principes fondamentaux en matière d’efficacité de l’aide, tels la prévisibilité, la transparence et la responsabilité. D’ailleurs, le nouveau système a de graves répercussions sur le travail des OSC canadiennes dans les pays en développement, leurs partenaires et les collectivités bénéficiaires, et la réputation du Canada s’en retrouve sérieusement entachée.  

Au cours de la dernière année, le CCCI a mis l’accent sur le regroupement et le recentrage. Et même si les occasions de nous exprimer collectivement devant l’ACDI se sont avérées limitées, nous avons tiré parti de toutes celles qui nous ont été données et avons participé de façon aussi constructive que possible au nom d’un secteur qui a tant à apporter. Alors que j’amorce ma deuxième année à la présidence du CCCI, je constate l’importance pour notre secteur d’accroître son engagement à l’égard des questions touchant les politiques, d’apporter une contribution constructive, d’être proactif en formulant des propositions et des alternatives. Nous devons identifier de nouveaux moyens de consolider notre rôle d’intervenants clés dans le développement international, et ce, afin de nous rapprocher de notre objectif commun : mettre fin à la pauvreté et à l’injustice dans le monde. Mais d’abord et avant tout, nous devons nous faire entendre. Je me réjouis à l’idée de rencontrer le ministre Fantino; je suis convaincue que nous aurons bien des choses à nous dire maintenant que nous allons de l’avant pour écrire un nouveau chapitre des relations entre les OSC et l’ACDI.

Solidairement,

Julia

Séparateur

DERNIÈRES NOUVELLES DU SECTEUR

Réunion finale du Groupe de travail sur l’efficacité de l’aide

Le 1er juillet, le Partenariat mondial pour une coopération efficace au service du développement a officiellement remplacé le Groupe de travail sur l’efficacité de l’aide, l’entité qui a mené les processus des forums de haut niveau se rapportant à la Déclaration de Paris, au Programme d’action d’Accra et au Partenariat de Busan pour une coopération efficace au service du développement. Suivant les conclusions de la réunion de Busan, le Groupe intérimaire post-Busan, une entité multipartite intégrant des groupes de la société civile, s’est rencontré de janvier à juin pour discuter de questions qui n’avaient pas été mises sur la table à Busan, à savoir la future structure de gouvernance mondiale pour la coopération au développement et le cadre de suivi des engagements de Busan. Ces conclusions ont été présentées à la réunion finale du Groupe de travail, tenue à la fin juin. Présent, le CCCI a discuté de stratégies avec les autres membres de BetterAid tout en commentant cet événement crucial dans ses gazouillis et sur son blogue.

Séparateur

Consultations nationales sur la future plateforme des OSC pour l’efficacité du développement

Maintenant que le Partenariat mondial pour une coopération efficace au service du développement vient de remplacer le Groupe de travail sur l’efficacité de l’aide (voir plus haut), la société civile réfléchit elle aussi à son orientation et aux buts et objectifs qu’elle souhaite atteindre d’ici la prochaine réunion du Partenariat, de même qu’à l’adoption d’une structure de gouvernance qui soit légère au niveau internationale et repose plus largement sur le niveau national (« Global light and country heavy »). À la suite d’une série de réunions et de discussions, BetterAid et le Forum ouvert ont rédigé une proposition répondant aux questions « Comment, quoi, où, quand et pourquoi ». En juin et en juillet, cette proposition a fait l’objet de consultations à l’échelle mondiale, y compris en Amérique du Nord. Le CCCI s’est vu confier le mandat de dresser un portrait des perspectives canadiennes quant à la forme et au rôle d’une future plateforme pour les OSC, plateforme qui entraînerait la fusion de BetterAid et du Forum ouvert. Le CCCI a en outre été sélectionné pour représenter l’Amérique du Nord dans toute structure future. Un rapport complet des consultations nationales est disponible en ligne.

dividing line

Création du Groupe de travail sur les communications du CCCI pour redéfinir le discours du secteur

Plus de 15 organisations membres du CCCI se sont jointes au nouveau Groupe de travail sur les communications du CCCI, qui a tenu sa première réunion en juillet. Au vu des relations changeantes entre les acteurs du développement établis et émergents et du besoin d’améliorer les communications du secteur à l’intention du public canadien, ce groupe a été mis sur pied avec un mandat précis : redéfinir notre discours et notre message. Il fait aussi office de tribune permettant de partager des ressources et des pratiques exemplaires en matière de communications. Le document conceptuel du CCCI à ce sujet, Redefining our Narrative: The Role of International Development CSOs in a Changing World, est disponible en ligne dans la section Coin des membres du CCCI (en anglais uniquement pour le moment). Communiquez avec Chantal Havard si vous souhaitez joindre le Groupe. Les participants se rencontreront à nouveau en septembre pour s’entendre sur un plan de travail, et nos membres seront régulièrement informés des progrès.

dividing line

Annonce de l’ACDI : financement supplémentaire pour l’Afghanistan et le Sahel

Le mois dernier, l’ACDI a annoncé une contribution supplémentaire de 227 millions de dollars à l’aide au développement en Afghanistan; ce financement, échelonné de 2014 à 2017, s’ajoute aux 300 millions réservés de 2011 à 2014. Cette contribution sera axée sur l’éducation des filles, les droits de la personne, l’aide humanitaire ainsi que la santé des mères, des nouveau-nés et des enfants. À compter de 2015, on accordera un financement triennal supplémentaire de 18 millions de dollars pour l’aide au développement visant à lutter contre le commerce de stupéfiants.

Plus tôt ce mois-ci, l’ACDI a aussi annoncé le lancement du fonds de contrepartie en réponse à la crise au Sahel, dans le cadre duquel elle égale les dons versés par les Canadiens aux sociétés de bienfaisance enregistrées du pays qui luttent contre la crise dans la région du Sahel, en Afrique. En fait, l’ACDI doublera les fonds reçus d’ici le 30 septembre 2012. Cela dit, il est important de noter que le fonds de contrepartie sera administré séparément par l’ACDI; l’argent ne sera donc pas nécessairement versé aux organisations qui recueillent les dons du public canadien. Nous espérons d’ailleurs que la façon dont les fonds seront alloués sera rendue publique sous peu, pour que le processus devienne plus transparent. Depuis le début de 2012, l’ACDI a déjà fourni 47,5 millions de dollars en réponse à cette crise; elle procurera aussi 10 millions de dollars au Programme alimentaire mondial pour soutenir les interventions de secours au Sahel.

dividing line

Encore de l’information sur Rio+20…

Voilà déjà deux mois qu’a eu lieu la conférence Rio+20. Pour la remettre en contexte, Kate Higgins, de l’Institut Nord‑Sud, a écrit le  blogue Rio+20 in a Changing World. Le Forum sur l’efficacité du développement des OSC a quant à lui compilé des déclarations et réactions de la société civile, sans compter que le site Web Agricultural Transition présente de nombreuses études de cas sur des questions d’alimentation et d’agriculture abordées lors de la conférence. Le bilan de Rio+20, L’avenir que nous voulons, a fait l’objet de critiques par les OSC en raison de son manque de propositions concrètes. On a toutefois observé quelques progrès sur des questions précises. En juillet, des représentants d’OSC du Mali et du Brésil, du groupe ETC, d’USC Canada, de L’Église Unie du Canada et du Conseil des Canadiens ont participé à un webinaire coorganisé par le CCCI et la Coalition canadienne pour le climat et le développement. Cet événement a permis d’évaluer les retombées positives et négatives de Rio+20; vous pouvez y accéder en ligne.

dividing line

Annonce du secrétaire général de l’ONU : Panel de haut niveau sur l’après-2015

Le secrétaire général de l’ONU, Ban Ki-Moon, a annoncé le nom des coprésidents et la composition du Panel de haut niveau, qui vise à établir le programme de développement mondial pour l’ère post 2015, date à laquelle les objectifs du Millénaire pour le développement ne seront plus en vigueur. Le président indonésien Susilo Bambang Yudhoyono, la présidente libérienne Ellen Johnson Sirleaf et le premier ministre britannique David Cameron coprésideront le Groupe, en collaboration avec 23 autres représentants. En avril dernier, Beyond 2015, une campagne mondiale axée sur le programme de l’ère post 2015, proposait que cinq représentants d’OSC soient de la partie. Or, un seul d’entre eux, soit Graca Machel du groupe The Elders, a été retenu. Heureuse qu’un tel groupe soit mis sur pied et vise une représentation régionale diversifiée, Beyond 2015 s’est toutefois dite déçue qu’il n’intègre pas plus d’OSC et n’offre pas de tribune aux gens vivant dans la pauvreté ou aux associations les représentant. Le CCCI tiendra un événement sur le programme de l’ère post 2015 en septembre et l’inscription est ouverte.

dividing line

PROFIL D'UN MEMBRE

Cette section du bulletin éléctronique revient en septembre!

dividing line

LES MEMBRES DU CCCI EN ACTION

Déception pour la coalition Contrôlez les armes : le Traité sur le commerce des armes se solde par un échec

À l’ONU, le mois de juillet a été marqué par de longues négociations pour créer le Traité sur le commerce des armes en vue de réglementer les transferts internationaux d’armes conventionnelles. Les pourparlers n’ont pas abouti à une entente, comme l’explique Kenneth Epps, du Project Ploughshares (coprésident de la coalition Contrôlez les armes), dans une lettre d’opinion récemment publiée dans le Globe and Mail. Les membres du CCCI Amnistie Internationale, Développement et Paix, Oxfam Canada, Oxfam Québec et Project Ploughshares font partie des quelque 100 membres de la coalition internationale Contrôlez les armes.

dividing line

Étude de la croissance économique durable et des opérations minières par Vision mondiale

Le printemps dernier, Vision mondiale a tenu un atelier sur la croissance économique durable et les opérations minières, auquel ont participé 27 intervenants du secteur minier, du gouvernement fédéral, des milieux universitaires et de la société civile. Cet atelier, qui mettait l’accent sur les possibilités et difficultés à long terme associées au secteur minier et sur le rôle des gouvernements locaux dans la croissance économique durable, a donné lieu à un rapport qui sera bientôt disponible en ligne. Entre-temps, veuillez communiquer avec Onome Ako ou Terry Gray de Vision mondiale si vous souhaitez obtenir une copie du rapport.

dividing line

VAUT LE COUP DE L'OEIL

charityfocusPortail DonAction d’Imagine Canada: votre organisation tire-t-elle le meilleur parti de cet important outil de transparence?

Le secteur canadien de la bienfaisance représente 79,1 milliards de dollars, soit 7,8 % de notre PIB; on lui attribue la création d’environ 2 millions d’emplois et la mobilisation de quelque 12 millions de bénévoles (ces chiffres et d’autres faits intéressants sont disponibles sur la page d’accueil du Portail DonAction). C’est dans le but de faciliter l’accès à l’information sur notre secteur qu’Imagine Canada a créé le Portail DonAction cette année. Il s’agit d’un outil fort utile pour trouver des renseignements sur les 85 000 organismes de bienfaisance enregistrés du Canada. Ce site présente les données fournies à l’Agence du revenu du Canada dans un format convivial; ainsi, on peut comparer les organismes de bienfaisance, et les organisations sont en mesure de téléverser de l’information supplémentaire. Un profil a été créé pour chaque organisation non gouvernementale (ONG) canadienne : si ce n’est pas déjà fait, vérifiez l’information sur votre profil en ligne et enrichissez-la.

dividing line

struggling for effectivenessNouveau livre : Struggling for Effectiveness: CIDA and Canadian Foreign Aid

Stephen Brown, professeur de l’Université d’Ottawa et collaborateur de longue date du CCCI, a préparé un nouveau livre qui sera publié sous peu. Cet ouvrage examine en profondeur les efforts de l’ACDI, en explorant des sujets comme le genre, la sécurité, la défense des droits, l’engagement du public, les politiques, les enjeux politiques canadiens, les relations avec les ONG, et bien plus encore. Denis Côté, du CCCI, fait partie des nombreux auteurs qui ont contribué à ce projet d’envergure. Vous pouvez réserver ce livre en passant une précommande en ligne.

dividing line

CSOs on the Road from Accra to BusanNouveau rapport : CSOs on the Road from Accra to Busan

Le 27 juin, BetterAid, en collaboration avec le Forum sur l’efficacité du développement des OSC, a présenté un rapport rédigé par Brian Tomlinson d’AidWatch Canada. Ce rapport retrace l’histoire de la société civile mondiale et du programme d’efficacité du développement au cours des quatre dernières années. Il répond aussi à la question suivante : tous secteurs confondus, les dirigeants politiques sont-ils prêts et ouverts à maintenir, à approfondir et à concrétiser les engagements et les lignes directrices qu’ils ont déterminés en 2011 lors du Forum de haut niveau de Busan?

 

dividing line

Reportage sur l’extraction de diamants équitables

La journaliste Erin Collins a récemment préparé un reportage spécial pour l’émission The National de CBC. Ce reportage traitait de l’extraction artisanale de diamants au Sierra Leone et du travail de l’ONG d’Ottawa Diamond Development Initiative pour élaborer un projet de commerce équitable dans la foulée de la campagne sur les diamants de sang.

dividing line

Pour faire publier un texte, prière de l’envoyer à Jack Litster. À noter que les articles destinés au Flash ne doivent pas avoir plus de 150 mots.