CCIC - Flash
A monthly electronic bulletin www.ccic.ca
PRINT FRANÇAIS

Headlines
July 27, 2011

 

 

1. Devastating Famine and Displacement in East Africa

 

In the Horn of Africa, a drought more severe than the region has seen in decades has impacted the lives of some 12 million people, particularly in northern Kenya, southern Ethiopia, and south-central Somalia. The international donor community’s slow response has led to a funding gap of $1bn to address immediate needs in East Africa, according to UN OCHA. CBC has compiled a list of humanitarian organizations (including several CCIC members) currently providing humanitarian assistance in the Horn of Africa. Jim Cornelius (Executive Director of Canadian Foodgrains Bank and Chair of the CCIC Board of Directors) is featured in a CBC video explaining the current situation in Ethiopia.

2. Make Aid Transparent!

 

At the meeting of the Working Party on Aid Effectiveness, BetterAid and a coalition of 80 civil society organizations handed over a petition to the Working Party Co-Chairs calling on donors to “Make Aid Transparent”. Signed by more than 5,000 individuals from 115 countries, the petition asks donors to publish more and better information about the aid they give, in line with the International Aid Transparency Initiative. The campaign is led by UK organization Publish What You Fund, and includes a very effective cartoon video. For more details, go to www.makeaidtransparent.org

3. Siem Reap Consensus on CSO Development Effectiveness finalized

 

The Second Global Assembly on Civil Society Development Effectiveness in Siem Reap, Cambodia, brought together more than 230 participants from over 70 countries to critically reflect on how they could make their development practice more effective. Following three days of work, the participants adopted in principle a final draft of the Siem Reap CSO Consensus on the International Framework for CSO Development Effectiveness, and helped further develop a toolkit for implementing the Istanbul Principles and for advocating for their adoption and use. Newsletters, speeches, agenda, photos videos and the International framework can be found on the Open Forum Global Assembly 2011 website.

 

Upcoming Events

 

4. Conference and Public Forum on Climate Negotiations and Justice for Vulnerable Populations: Perspectives for COP 17 and Rio+ 20

 

On Monday September 26, 2011, the Canadian Coalition on Climate Change and Development, in collaboration with the CCIC Africa-Canada Forum and Asia-Pacific Working Group and the Canadian Food Security Policy Group will be holding a learning conference and public event in Ottawa entitled: Climate Negotiations and Justice for Vulnerable Populations: Perspectives for COP 17 and Rio+ 20. For more information, contact Carol Thiessen, co-chair of the Canadian Coalition on Climate Change and Development, Denis Cote, APWG Coordinator, or Sylvie Perras.

 

5. Africa-Canada Forum and Asia-Pacific Working Group Annual Colloquiums

 

On September 27, 2011, Africa-Canada Forum (ACF) and Asia-Pacific Working Group (APWG) will each be hosting their annual colloquium. These will continue the reflection on climate justice, looking more specifically at how the debates take shape in the African and Asian contexts, how civil society is mobilizing on those issues in the two regions, and how Canadian CSOs are supporting their efforts. For more information contact Denis Cote, APWG Coordinator, or Sylvie Perras, ACF Coordinator. Detailed agendas will be available in August.

6. International Forum on the Social and Solidarity Economy

 

The International Forum on the Social and Solidarity Economy will be held in Montréal on October 17-20, 2011. This is expected to be the largest event on community-based approaches to social and economic development ever held in Canada. The Canadian Community Economic Development Network (CCEDNet) is a partner with the Chantier de l’économie sociale in the preparation of the Forum, which will present innovative practices from around the world related to these five themes: Local Development; Finance and Market Access; Innovation and Community Entrepreneurship; Employment; and Food Security and Sovereignty.

Worth Looking At

 

7. Civil society pushes “BetterAid” in draft Outcome Document for Busan

 

BetterAid participated in the July meeting of the Working Party on Aid Effectiveness (WP-Eff) where the draft Busan Outcome Document (BOD) for the Fourth High Level Forum on Aid Effectiveness was the topic of conversation. Among key CSO demands at the meeting were producing a BOD based on evidence, going beyond aid effectiveness to development effectiveness, strengthening and deepening existing commitments from Paris and Accra, and endorsing the Istanbul Principles and International Framework. BetterAid submitted a four page analysis of the BOD to the WP-Eff in time for the July 15 official deadline for comments.

 

flash 8

8. CIDA launches new transparency portal

 

In early July, CIDA launched a new Open Data Portal to provide more information on current and recent aid commitments and disbursements (back to 2001). While the project browser and the annual Statistical Report had provided details of CIDA activities by project, country, sector or keyword, or in a combination, users could not previously export this data to their computers for further manipulation and analysis. The site also offers direct access to data CIDA provides to the OECD, to CIDA's annual Statistical Report tables on total bilateral disbursements per country and delivery channel, and an evaluation of Canada’s progress against key aid commitments.

If you have an item for Flash, send it by e-mail to Jack Litster. Please note that Flash items should be no longer than one paragraph.

 

TOP

All Rights Reserved 2009 Canadian Council for International Co-operation | info@ccic.ca

CCCI - Flash
Le bulletin électronique mensuel www.ccic.ca
IMPRIMER ENGLISH

Dernières nouvelles
Le 27 juillet 2011

1. Famine catastrophique et déplacements en Afrique de l’Est

Dans la Corne de l’Afrique, une sécheresse d’une gravité inégalée depuis des décennies dans la région bouleverse la vie de quelque 12 millions de personnes, particulièrement dans le nord du Kenya, le sud de l’Éthiopie et le centre-sud de la Somalie. Selon le Bureau de la coordination des affaires humanitaires de l’ONU, la torpeur de la communauté internationale se traduit par une carence de 1 milliard de dollars pour la réponse aux besoins immédiats. Radio Canada a compilé une liste des organisations humanitaires (où figurent plusieurs membres du CCCI) qui apportent actuellement une aide humanitaire dans la région. Jim Cornelius (directeur général de l’Association de la banque canadienne de grains et président du conseil d’administration du CCCI) est interviewé dans cette vidéo de la CBC faisant le point sur la situation en Éthiopie.


2. Pour une aide transparente!

BetterAid et une coalition de 80 organisations de la société civile ont profité d’une réunion du Groupe de travail sur l’efficacité de l’aide pour remettre aux coprésidents de ce dernier une pétition réclamant plus de transparence de la part des bailleurs de fonds. Signée par plus de 5 000 personnes de 115 pays, la pétition demande aux bailleurs de fonds de diffuser des renseignements plus complets et plus clairs au sujet de leur aide, conformément à l’Initiative de transparence de l’aide internationale (IATI). Cette campagne menée par l’organisation Publish What You Fund, du Royaume-Uni, s’appuie notamment sur un dessin animé promotionnel très efficace. Pour en savoir plus : www.makeaidtransparent.org

 


3. Consensus final de Siem Reap sur l’efficacité des OSC de développement

 

La Deuxième Assemblée mondiale du Forum sur l’efficacité du développement des OSC, qui s’est tenue à Siem Reap, au Cambodge, a réuni plus de 230 participants de plus de 70 pays venus pour réfléchir ensemble, sans complaisance, aux moyens d’améliorer l’efficacité de leurs pratiques en matière de développement. Après trois jours de travaux, les participants ont adopté en principe une version finale du « consensus de Siem Reap sur le Cadre international pour l’efficacité des OSC en matière de développement » et contribué à enrichir les outils proposant des moyens concrets de mise en œuvre et de promotion des principes d’Istanbul. On trouvera des bulletins d’information, les discours, le programme, des photos, des vidéos et le texte du Cadre international dans le site Web de l’Assemblée mondiale du Forum ouvert 2011.


Évènements à venir

 

4. Conférence et forum public sur les changements climatiques et justice pour les populations vulnérables : perspectives pour COP 17 et Rio + 20

Le lundi 26 septembre 2011, La Coalition canadienne pour le climat et le développement, en collaboration avec le Forum Afrique-Canada et le Groupe de travail sur l’Asie-Pacifique du CCCI, ainsi que le Groupe de réflexion sur la sécurité alimentaire vous invitent à une conférence intitulée: Négociations sur les changements climatiques et justice pour les populations vulnérables : perspectives pour COP 17 et Rio + 20. Cette conférence sera suivie d’un forum public.  Pour en savoir plus, contactez Carol Thiessen, co-présidente de la Coalition canadienne pour le climat et le développement, Denis Côté, coordonnateur du GTAP, ou Sylvie Perras,  coordonnatrice du FAC.


5. Colloques annuels du Forum Afrique-Canada et le Groupe de travail sur l’Asie et le Pacifique

Le 27 septembre 2011 le Forum Afrique-Canada (FAC) et le Groupe de travail sur l’Asie et le Pacifique (GTAP) tiendront leur colloques annuels. Ils  poursuivront la réflexion sur la justice climatique, en se penchant plus spécialement sur la forme que prennent les débats dans les cas de l’Afrique et de l’Asie, la façon dont le société civile se mobilise sur ces questions dans ces deux régions, et les moyens que prennent les OSC canadiennes pour soutenir ces efforts. Pour en savoir plus, communiquer avec le coordonnateur du GTAP, Denis Côté, ou avec la coordonnatrice du FAC, Sylvie Perras. Le détail des programmes et les modalités d’inscription seront annoncés d’ici la fin de l’été.

 

6. Forum international de l’économie sociale et solidaire

 

Du 17 au 20 octobre 2011 aura lieu à Montréal le Forum international de l’économie sociale et solidaire. Ce sera fort probablement l’événement le plus important jamais organisé au Canada sur les approches communautaires du développement économique et social. Le Réseau canadien de développement économique communautaire (RCDÉC), partenaire du Chantier de l’économie sociale, collabore à la préparation de ce Forum, qui s’articulera autour de cinq thèmes : développement local; finance et accès aux marchés; innovation et entrepreneuriat collectif; emploi; et sécurité et souveraineté alimentaire.

Vaut le coup d'oeil

 

7. La société civile milite pour l’optimisation de l’aide dans le Document final de Busan

 

BetterAid a participé à la réunion tenue en juillet par le Groupe de travail sur l'efficacité de l'aide, qui portait sur le Document final de Busan destiné au Quatrième Forum de haut niveau sur l’efficacité de l’aide. Parmi les principales revendications présentées par les OSC à la réunion figurent la production d’un document basé sur les faits, la recherche de l’efficacité du développement au-delà de l’efficacité de l’aide, le renforcement et l’approfondissement des engagements de Paris et d’Accra et l’adoption des principes d’Istanbul et du Cadre international. BetterAid a soumis une analyse du Document final de Busan de quatre pages au Groupe de travail avant le 15 juillet, date limite imposée pour la présentation de commentaires.

 

 

8. Un portail pour la transparence de l’ACDI

 

Début juillet, l’ACDI a inauguré un Portail de données ouvertes qui vise à fournir des renseignements sur les engagements et décaissements en cours ou récents (depuis 2001) en matière d’aide internationale. La Banque de projets et le rapport statistique annuel fournissaient des détails sur les activités de l’ACDI par projet, pays, secteur ou mot-clé ou selon une combinaison de critères, mais les utilisateurs ne pouvaient pas importer ces données pour les traiter ou les analyser sur leur propre ordinateur. Le site donne également accès aux données que l’ACDI fournit à l’OCDE, aux tableaux statistiques annuels de l’ACDI portant sur le total des décaissements d’aide bilatérale par pays et par mode de prestation ainsi qu’à une évaluation des progrès affichés par le Canada à la lumière de ses principaux engagements.

 


Pour faire publier un texte, prière de l’envoyer à Jack Litster. À noter que les articles destinés au Flash ne doivent pas avoir plus d’un paragraphe.

HAUT
Tous droits réservés © 2009 Conseil canadien pour la coopération internationale | info@ccic.ca