CCIC - Flash
A monthly electronic bulletin www.ccic.ca
PRINT FRANÇAIS

Headlines
April 19, 2011

 

 

1. Registration to the 2011 CCIC Forum and Annual General Meeting

 

Information about registration, agenda, venue and accommodation for CCIC’s 2011 Forum and AGM are now on CCIC’s website. This year, registration to the AGM can be done online.


The Forum, From Principles to Practice, Improving our development effectiveness as CSOs and the AGM will be held on May 26 and 27, 2011, at the Travelodge Hotel Ottawa and Conference Centre, in Ottawa.


Visit CCIC’s website to register!

 

2. Application Deadline for the Busan Summit

The BetterAid Platform has just launched the process for determining civil society participation at the Fourth High Level Forum (HLF4) in Busan, Korea, on November 29 – December 1, 2011. To be able to participate as a CSO inside the meetings, you must fill in and send your application before May 8, 2011. Among the 300 eligible global participants, Canadian CSOs can expect to have 5 to 10 spots. 

 

3. Online Survey: Status of CIDA Funding Among CCIC Members

 

Building on an annual CCIC members’ survey over the past two years assessing the status of Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA) funding for members, CCIC is launching a new survey. This survey will garner a more complete picture of the status of current CIDA partnership agreements and proposals among members. The goals of the survey are twofold: to better understand member organizations' current funding status, concerns, and challenges; and to help shape CCIC’s advocacy with CIDA in this area in the coming year.

 

Individual surveys and their results will be treated as confidential, but a summary of the survey findings will be circulated at the CCIC’s 2011 AGM. This survey will be open from April 14 to May 5, 2011. If you are a member organization of CCIC and wish to participate in the survey, click here.

 

4. New UN Rapporteur to Protect Citizens’ and Civil Society’s Rights

 

At the end of March, the United Nations Human Rights Council appointed Maina Kiai, a Kenyan national, as the Special Rapporteur on the Rights to Freedom of Peaceful Assembly and of Association. Mr. Kiai has over 20 years of experience working on human rights and constitutional reform in Kenya.  Internationally, he has worked for Amnesty International and the International Human Rights Law Group. Mr. Kiai currently heads the International Council on Human Rights Policy in Geneva.

 

His appointment follows the adoption of the Human Rights Council’s Resolution A/HRC/15/L.23, which created the new Special Rapporteur position. This resolution was strongly promoted by Civicus and the International Centre for Not-For-Profit Law, among other international CSOs, in response to closing political space for many civil society organizations. 

 

For an analysis and documentation of country situations, see Civicus’s report, “The Clampdown is Real”, click here.

 

5. DAC Releases Preliminary ODA Figures for 2010

 

The OECD Development Assistance Committee (DAC) announced that Official Development Assistance (ODA) for 2010 was US$128.7 billion, based on preliminary ODA reports from 23 DAC donors (including Korea). DAC real ODA (less debt cancellation, students and refugees in donor countries) is estimated to be US$119.6 billion in 2010, compared to US$112.7 billion in 2009. Overall donor ODA performance improved in 2010 – 0.32% of Gross National Income (0.31% in 2009), with an estimate of 0.30% for real ODA in 2010.

 

6. Donors Fail to Honour their 2005 Gleneagles Aid Commitments

 

While DAC donor aid in 2010 increased by 6.5% over 2009, these donors failed to meet their 2005 Gleneagles commitments to increase ODA by US$50 billion by 2010, falling short by US$19 billion, with only US$1 billion accounted for by lower than expected growth rates. Sub-Saharan Africa fared even worse, receiving less than half of its 2005 commitment, only US$11 billion of the US$25 billion promised at Gleneagles. Significant aid shortfalls by Germany, Spain, Austria and Italy were the main reasons for this failure.

 

7. Bleak Projections for Future Aid Commitments by the DAC

 

In releasing the 2010 ODA figures (see above), the OECD DAC also reported donor preliminary projections for the next three years. The news is not encouraging for new aid commitments. They expect increases to core aid flows to slow to about 2% per annum between 2011 and 2013, compared to 8% in the period 2008 to 2010.  Annual aid increases for Sub-Saharan Africa are expected to slow to about 1%, compared to 13% growth in the past three years. 

 

8. DAC Records Large Aid Increase for Canada in 2010

 

The DAC reported a 12.7% increase in Canadian ODA in 2010 over 2009.  There are several explanations for this, the main one being a significant amount of one-off increases for Canada’s aid disbursements in the last months of the fiscal year 2009/10 for Haiti and in the fiscal year 2010/11 for a number of initiatives such as the Mother Child Health Initiative. Supplementary estimates during 2010/11, (beyond the budgeted International Assistance Envelope of Cdn$5 billion) totaled Cdn$452 million or more than 8% of the original ODA budget set out at the beginning of the year.  The DAC calculates Canada’s aid performance for 2010 at 0.33% of GNI for 2011, ranking 14th among donors.

 

Events

 

9. May 2011 Africa-Canada Forum Regional Meetings  
Climate change and Development: What's at stake for Africa?

 

The Africa-Canada Forum is planning regional meetings in Montreal, Ottawa and Toronto to begin understanding the various perspectives and political issues at play for Africa in the upcoming international negotiations for the UN Conference on Climate Change (in Durban, South Africa, November 2011), and the UN Conference on Sustainable Development - Rio + 20 (in Rio de Janeiro, June 2012).  The meetings will take place in Montréal on May 9, 2 p.m. - 4 p.m., in Ottawa on May 11 , 1:30 p.m. - 3:30 p.m., and in Toronto on May 12, 2 p.m. - 4 p.m. Experts will be with us to guide our reflection.  For more information and to register before May 5, please contact Sylvie Perras.

 

 

Note: If you have an item for Flash, send it by e-mail to François Demers. Please note that Flash items should be no longer than one paragraph.

 

TOP

All Rights Reserved 2009 Canadian Council for International Co-operation | info@ccic-ccci.ca

CCCI - Flash
Le bulletin électronique mensuel www.ccic.ca
IMPRIMER ENGLISH

Dernières nouvelles
Le 19 Avril 2011

1. Inscription au Forum et à l’Assemblée générale annuelle 2011 du CCCI

Toute l’information sur le programme, l’inscription, l’emplacement et le logement pour le Forum et l’AGA du CCCI se trouve maintenant sur le site web. Cette année l’inscription se fera en ligne.

 

Le Forum Des principes théoriques à la pratique : améliorer notre efficacité en matière de développement en tant qu’OSC et l’AGA se tiendront les 26 et 27 mai 2011 au Travelodge Hotel Ottawa and Conference Centre, à Ottawa.

 

Visitez le site web du CCCI pour vous inscrire!

2. Date limite pour soumettre une demande de participation au Sommet de Busan : le dimanche 8 mai 2011

BetterAid vient de lancer le processus de sélection des représentants de la société civile pour le Quatrième Forum de haut niveau sur l’Efficacité de l’Aide (FHN-4) qui se tiendra à Busan, en Corée, les 29 novembre et premier décembre 2011. Pour participer aux réunions comme OSC, vous devez soumettre votre demande avant le 8 mai 2011! Parmi les 300 participants mondiaux admissibles, les OSC canadiennes peuvent espérer obtenir de 5 à 10 places.

 


3. Sondage en ligne : l’état du financement des membres du CCCI par l’ACDI

 

À la suite d’un sondage tenu au cours des deux dernières années évaluant l’état du financement des membres du CCCI par l’Agence canadienne du développement international (ACDI), le CCCI lance un nouveau sondage. Celui-ci permettra d’obtenir un portrait plus complet des ententes de partenariat et des soumissions ayant cours avec l’ACDI. L’objectif du sondage sera double : mieux comprendre l’état du financement, les préoccupations et les défis des organisations membres, et aider le CCCI dans ses activités de représentation auprès de l’ACDI dans l’année à venir.

 

Les résultats du sondage seront confidentiels, mais un sommaire des conclusions sera distribué lors de l’AGA 2011. Ce sondage sera ouvert du 14 avril au 5 mai 2011. Si vous êtes membre du CCCI et désirez participer, cliquez ici.


4. Nouveau rapporteur de l’ONU pour protéger les droits des citoyens et de la société civile

 

À la fin mars, le Haut-commissariat aux Droits de l’Homme a nommé M. Maina Kiai au poste de Rapporteur spécial sur le droit de réunion et d'association pacifiques. M. Kiai a œuvré pendant plus de 20 ans dans le domaine des droits de la personne et de la réforme constitutionnelle au Kenya. Sur le plan international, il a travaillé pour Amnesty International et le International Human Rights Law Group. M. Kiai est actuellement à la tête du Conseil international sur les politiques des droits humains à Genève.

 

Sa nomination suit l’adoption par le Haut-commissariat de la résolution A/HRC/15/L.23, créant le poste de Rapporteur spécial. Cette résolution a été fortement soutenue par Civicus, le International Center for Not-For-Profit Law et d’autres ONG internationales en réponse à la fermeture de l’espace politique à plusieurs organisations de la société civile.

 

Vous trouverez une analyse et de la documentation sur la situation dans divers pays dans le rapport de Civicus, “The Clampdown is Real”, en cliquant ici.


5. Le Comité d’aide au développement dévoile les montants préliminaires de l’aide publique au développement pour 2010

 

Le Comité d’aide au développement (CAD) de l’OCDE a annoncé que l’aide publique au développement (APD) pour 2010 était de 128,7 milliards US, selon les rapports préliminaires de 23 pays donateurs (incluant la Corée). L’APD  réelle (sans les annulations de dette et l’accueil d’étudiants et de réfugiés dans les pays donateurs) est estimée à 119,6 milliards en 2010, comparée à 112,7 milliards en 2009. En tout, la performance de l’APD des donateurs s’est améliorée en 2010, en passant à 0,32% du revenu national brut (contre 0,31% en 2009), avec une estimation de 0,30% pour l’APD réelle en 2010.

 

6. Les pays donateurs ne respectent pas les engagements pris en 2005 à Gleneagles en matière d’aide

 

Alors que l’aide des donateurs du CAD augmentait de 6,5% en 2010, ceux-ci ne respectaient pas leurs engagements pris en 2005 à Gleneagles d’augmenter l’APD de 50 milliards US pour 2010. Il manquait en effet 19 milliards dont seulement un milliard justifié par un taux de croissance plus faible que prévu. L’Afrique sub-saharienne s’en tire encore moins bien, recevant moins de la moitié des sommes promises en 2005, soit seulement 11 sur 25 milliards. D’importants manques dans l’aide fournie par l’Allemagne, l’Espagne, l’Australie et l’Italie étaient les raisons principales de cet échec.

 

7. Sombres projections d’avenir pour les engagements d’aide au développement du CAD

 

Avec la publication des chiffres de 2010 de l’APD (voir ci-dessus), l’OCDE a également fait état des projections préliminaires pour les pays donateurs pour les trois prochaines années. Les nouvelles ne sont pas encourageantes en matière de nouveaux engagements d’aide.  L’augmentation des flux principaux d’aide ralentira à environ 2% par année entre 2011 et 2013, en comparaison des 8% enregistrés entre 2008 et 2010. L’augmentation annuelle de l’aide pour l’Afrique sub-saharienne devrait ralentir à environ 1%, comparé à 13% au cours des trois dernières années.

 

8. Le CAD enregistre une forte augmentation de l’aide au développement pour le Canada en 2010

 

Le CAD a rapporté une augmentation de 12,7% de l’aide publique au développement au Canada entre 2009 et 2010. Cette augmentation a plusieurs explications. La principale serait un accroissement notable des dépenses en aide pour les derniers mois de l’année fiscale 2009/2010, pour Haïti, et en 2010/2011 pour plusieurs initiatives comme celle portant sur la santé des mères et des enfants. L’estimation du surplus dépensé en 2010/2011 (au-delà de l’enveloppe de 5 milliards prévue pour l’aide internationale) monte à 452 millions, soit plus de 8% du budget d’APD prévu au début de l’année. Le CAD calcule la performance de l’aide du Canada pour 2010 à 0,33% du RNB pour 2011, soit le 14e rang des pays donateurs.

 

À venir

 

9. Rencontres régionales du Forum-Afrique Canada – Mai 2011 : Changements climatiques et développement : Quels sont les enjeux pour l’Afrique?

 

Le Forum Afrique-Canada organise des rencontres régionales à Montréal, Ottawa et Toronto pour amorcer la réflexion sur les différents enjeux et points de vue qui seront au cœur des négociations internationales de la Conférence des Nations unies sur les changements climatiques (à Durban en Afrique du Sud en novembre 2011), et de la Conférence des Nations unies sur le développement durable, Rio +20, (à Rio, au Brésil en juin 2012).  Les rencontres auront lieu à Montréal le 9 mai de 14h à 16h, à Ottawa le 11 mai de 13h30 à 15h30 et à Toronto le 12 mai de 14h à 16h. Des spécialistes nous guideront dans cette démarche. Pour plus d’information ou pour vous inscrire avant le 5 mai, veuillez contacter Sylvie Perras à sperras@ccic.ca.

 

 


Pour faire publier un texte, prière de l’envoyer à François Demers. À noter que les articles destinés au Flash ne doivent pas avoir plus d’un paragraphe.

HAUT
Tous droits réservés © 2009 Conseil canadien pour la coopération internationale | info@ccic-ccci.ca